Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Figure Skating - 25. October 2007.


Colorado Springs, Colo. (Oct. 24, 2007) – The international event is one of six stops on the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series. Competition will take place at the Comcast Arena at the Everett Events Center, Oct. 24-26, 2008.

“We are extremely pleased to award this competition to Everett,” U.S. Figure Skating President Ron Hershberger said. “The many athletes and visitors to the city will be pleased with all it offers. We know the entire Everett community will embrace the event and come out to watch many of the world’s top figure skaters compete.”

Skate America is an Olympic-style international figure skating event featuring three days of competition in ladies, men’s, pairs and ice dancing. The event annually attracts more than 60 world-class figure skaters. Past champions include five-time World and nine-time U.S. champion Michelle Kwan, 2002 Olympic bronze medalist Timothy Goebel, 2002 Olympic pairs champions Jamie Sale and David Pelletier of Canada, 1992 Olympic champion Kristi Yamaguchi and 1984 Olympic champion Scott Hamilton.

“We’re pleased to host this exciting skating event,” Snohomish County tourism bureau manager Steve Pottle said. “Figure skating has a worldwide following, and we are excited to host the skaters, officials, foreign dignitaries, visitors and press here in Snohomish County.”

2007 Skate America is being held this week at the Sovereign Center in Reading, Pa. 2006 Skate America took place at the Hartford Civic Center in Hartford, Conn., where U.S. skaters won medals in all four disciplines and took home five of the 12 total medals. Kimmie Meissner (ladies), Evan Lysacek (men’s) and Melissa Gregory & Denis Petukhov (ice dancing) each won silver in their respective disciplines, while pairs teams Rena Inoue & John Baldwin and Naomi Nari Nam & Themi Leftheris captured gold and bronze, respectively.

Other annual stops on the Grand Prix Series include Skate Canada, Cup of China, Trophée Eric Bompard (France), Cup of Russia and NHK Trophy (Japan). The Grand Prix Final takes place each December. This year it is Dec. 13-16 in Torino, Italy.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us