Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Golf - 11. September 2007.

Yorkshire, Hampshire, Glamorgan and Leicestershire line up for County Finals

Yorkshire, who represent the Northern division of the English Ladies’ Golf Association, have won this inter-county championship eight times – and have scored a hat trick of consecutive wins over the past three years.

Their three challengers include the host county, Hampshire, who represent the Southern Eastern division and who last won this title in 1995.

The other two finalists are Glamorgan from the South Western division, and Leicestershire & Rutland from the Midlands. Glamorgan were last champions in 1991 but were runners-up in 2003 and 2004. Leicestershire have never won the County Finals but took second place in 2002.

The event will bring together a host of top golfers. Naomi Edwards is one of four GB&I internationals among the players. She will be joined in the Yorkshire side by Rachel Bell, while Hampshire’s representatives include Kerry Smith and Liz Bennett, who will be playing on her home course.

Hampshire will also be fielding two England girl internationals: Raffi Dyer and Katie Mundy.

Two of the legends of the amateur game will also be in action: British mid-amateur champion Emma Duggleby for Yorkshire and Welsh seniors’ champion Vicki Thomas for Glamorgan.

Leicestershire will be led by their champion Kym Larratt, who was also the runner-up in the Midland ladies’ championship.

The order of play is:

Wednesday19th September
9.15am and 1.30pm Hampshire v Leicestershire
9.50am and 2.30pm Yorkshire v Glamorgan

Thursday 20th September
9.15am and 1.30pm Leicestershire v Yorkshire
9.50am and 2.30pm Glamorgan v Hampshire

Friday 21st September
8.30am and 12.45pm Hampshire v Yorkshire
9.05am and 1.45pm Leicestershire v Glamorgan

The teams are:

Captain: Rosamund Cooper
Gemma Bradbury
Anna Carling
Lydia Hall
Becky Harries
Rachel Hunt
Amy Rees
Rhian Thomas
Vicki Thomas
Uniform: gold, burgundy and navy

Captain: Bridget Moore
Layla Ahmed
Liz Bennett
Tracey Boyes
Raffi Dyer
Katie Mundy
Kerry Smith
Helen Wheeler
Uniform: sky blue and navy

Captain: Helen Summ
Tracy Bourne
Jenny Cooper
Sarah-Jane Eaves
Kym Larratt
Helen Lowe
Jo Morris
Helen Summ
Uniform: black and blue

Captain: Sue Milner
Rachel Bell
Lizzie Brand
Kimberley Crooks
Emma Duggleby
Nicola Dunn
Naomi Edwards
Laura Harvey
Sara Garbutt
Uniform: white, green and stone
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us