Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Football - 28. August 2007.

Third National Women’s Football Championship: Sports Sciences Club claim title

Staff Report

ISLAMABAD: Sports Sciences Club of Lahore won the 3rd National Women’s Football Championship after beating Afghanistan 1-0 in the final at the Jinnah Stadium here on Friday. Ace striker Ayesha Akram netted the winner in the 26th minute of the first half to help her team lift the coveted trophy.

The winners gave no chance whatsoever to all out attacks of Afghanistan in the second session and kept their slender lead intact till the end. Afghanistan’s main striker Hadesa missed an open chance in the second half when the goalkeeper of the winning team, Nabeela Raza, was alone in front of her. The first championship was won by Punjab. Pakistan WAPDA won the second event after beating Islamabad 1-0 in the final.

Earlier, Diya Club of Karachi registered a 1-0 victory over Balochistan to grab a bronze medal. The lone goal of the match was scored by striker Faryal Shah in the tenth minute of the second session. The first half remained goalless.

Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) president Syed Faisal Salah Hayat was the chief guest and distributed the prizes among the players. The top three teams received handsome prize money along with the glittering trophies. Sports Sciences Club received Rs 50,000, Afghanistan walked away with Rs 30,000 while the third-placed team Diya Club pocketed Rs 20,000.

The match commissioner of the final was Muhammad Irfan Khan Niazi while Qazi Muhammad Asif acted as the referee assessor. Hidayat Ullah supervised the match while Ejaz Hussain, Yasmeen Zehra and Khalida Perveen performed duty on the touchline as his assistants.

Final positions

1: Lahore’s Sports Sciences Club

2: Afghanistan

3: Karachi’s Diya Club

4: Balochistan

5: Islamabad

6: Pakistan WAPDA

7: Sindh

8: Pak Punjab

9: Young Rising Star Red

10: Lahore Women’s Club

11: Young Rising Star Blue

12: Azad Jammu and Kashmir’s Pilot FC

13: Higher Education Commission

14: Mardan Club.


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us