Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cycling - 10. October 2007.

Team events conclude USA Cycling Track Nationals

Carson, Calif. (October 6, 2007)—The 2007 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships concluded on Saturday.

Just six weeks before making its debut on the UCI World Cup program in Sydney, the women’s 3-kilometer team pursuit event was introduced to the national championships as the trio of two-time world champion Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif./Ouch Pro Cycling), Thursday’s individual pursuit national champion Dotsie Bausch (Irvine, Calif./Colavita-Sutter Home-Cooking Light) and this year’s sprint and keirin national champion, Jennie Reed (Kirkland, Wash./Momentum), rode to a victory in the inaugural edition. The threesome clocked a winning time of 3 minutes, 34.783 seconds for a nine-second victory over South Bay Wheelmen’s Becky Quinn (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Christen King (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Neva Day (Manhattan Beach, Calif.).

photo US Cycling

The team consisting of Kele Murdin (Kenmore, Wash./Team UltraLink), Heather Albert (Eagle, Idaho/America’s Dairyland) and Shelley Olds (Los Gatos, Calif./Proman-Paradigm) recorded a 3:54.851 to claim the bronze medal.
In the team sprint events, the T-Town Express squad of Giddeon Massie (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Ben Barczewski (Breinigsville, Pa.) and Ryan Nelman (Houston, Texas) rode to a national title in the men’s contest while Liz Reap (Jim Thorpe, Pa./T-Town Express) and Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./Cody Racing) won the women’s event.

Massie, Barczewski and Nelman clocked a winning time of 47.058 seconds to beat the trio of Adam Duvendeck (Santa Barbara, Calif./Momentum), Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif./Cody Racing), and Angelo Martorell (Bonito, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen) who clocked a time of 48.485 seconds.

In the head-to-head bronze medal match, Stephen Hill (Winston, Ga./East Point Track Club), Steven Beardsley (Portland, Ore./CMG Racing) and Kelyn Akuna (San Jose, Calif.) turned in a 49.410 to place third over Daniel Walker (Houston, Texas/Northwest Cycling Club), Andrew LaCorte (Plainview, N.Y.) and Andrew Weathers (Houston, Texas/Gulf Coast Cycling), whose 50.553 left them in fourth place overall.

Reap and Higgins beat Martha Dunne (Coronado, Calif.) and Anna Lang (San Diego, Calif./SDBC/Karl Strauss) in the gold medal final with a winning time of 36.590 seconds.
In the bronze-medal match of the women’s team sprint, Cristin Walker (Houston, Texas/Northwest Cycling Club) and Mindi Martin (St. Louis, Mo./Dent Wizard) clocked a 38.273 to edge Catherine Fiedler (Long Beach, Calif./Home Depot Center) and Becky Lang (Paramount, Calif./Home Depot Center) by a mere tenth of a second.

In the only individual event of the evening, Massie earned his second national title of the evening with a victory in the men’s keirin. Massie outsprinted runner-up Barczewski by a bike length in the six-man final while Brent Stein (Parker, Colo./Egoistas) took home the bronze. Rounding out the top-six from the final grouping were Justin Williams (Los Angeles, Calif./Rock Racing), Duvendeck and Hill respectively.

In the men’s 40-kilometer madison, the pairing of Colby Pearce (Boulder, Colo./Cody Racing) and Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa./Toyota-United) accumulated 22 points to beat silver medalists Rahsaan Bahati (Los Angeles, Calif./Rock Racing) and Austin Carroll (Orange, Calif./Rock Racing), who scored 17. In a highly-competitive race, defending national champions Brad Huff (Fair Grove, Mo.) and Michael Friedman (Pittsburgh, Pa.) gave Team Slipstream a bronze medal with 16 points, while the Cody Racing twosome of Ryan Luttrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Kevin Suhr (Colorado Springs, Colo.) placed fourth with 14 points.

2007 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships
Carson, Calif.
October 3-6

Day Four Results:
Women’s Team Sprint
1. Liz Reap (Jim Thorpe, Pa.), Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo.) 36.590
2. Martha Dunne (Coronado, Calif.), Anna Lang (San Diego, Calif.) 37.378
3. Cristin Walker (Houston, Texas), Mindi Martin (St. Louis, Mo.) 38.273
4. Catherine Fiedler (Long Beach, Calif.), Becky Lang (Paramount, Calif.) 38.371
5. Heather Vanvalkenburg (Mira Loma, Calif.), Kara Vidaca (Mira Loma, Calif.) 38.935

Women’s Team Pursuit
1. Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif.), Dotsie Bausch (Irvine, Calif.), Jennie Reed (Kirkland, Wash.) 3:34.783
2. Becky Quinn (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Cristin King (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Neva Day (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) 3:43.841
3. Kele Murdin (Kenmore, Wash.), Heather Albert (Eagle, Idaho), Shelley Olds (Los Gatos, Calif.) 3:54.851
4. Katharine Lundby (Solana Beach, Calif.), Julia Lafranchise (San Diego, Calif.), Kelli Jones (San Diego, Calif.) 4:05.213
5. Charlayne Barger-Hoover (Topanga, Calif.), Julia Cross (Costa Mesa, Calif.), Tara Unverzagt (Torrance, Calif.) 4:23.769

About USA Cycling
Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 60,000 members and 2,500 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men’s road). For more information, visit www.usacycling.org or contact USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.

This Article Published 2007-10-06 21:08:05 For more information contact: [email protected]

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us