Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cycling - 14. May 2007.

Stanford, Western Washington win collegiate road national titles

Lawrence, Kan. (May 13, 2007)—The 2007 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships concluded on Sunday as Stanford University claimed the overall Division I title and Western Washington University won the overall Division II championship. Eight individual titles were also determined on Sunday as the three-day event closed with criterium racing in downtown Lawrence for the third consecutive year.
Stanford amassed 519 points to beat defending champion University of California-Davis (430) and perennial collegiate cycling powerhouse Fort Lewis College (409).
Western Washington scored 478 points to finish ahead of Dartmouth College (448) and defending champion Whitman College (405).
Rebecca Larson (University of Florida) captured individual Division I overall title and Mara Abbott (Whitman College) rode to overall wins in the Division II standings.

Abbott captured her third consecutive road race title on Saturday and placed third in the criterium to score a win over Jennifer Bodine (George Washington University), 274-226.
Stanford University’s overall Division I title was the result of solid performances throughout the weekend that included third- and sixth-place finishes respectively by its women’s and men’s team time trial squads.Top women’s performances came from Caitlyn McCollough in the criterium (6th) and Arwen Bradley in the road race (9th).
Western Washington University placed second in the women’s race against the clock while top individual performances came from Megan McPhee, who placed fifth in the women’s criterium and 16th in the road race.
Overall team titles were determined by point contributions from both the men’s and women’s squads.
Also on Sunday, four criterium titles were earned. In the women’s 55-minute Division I contest, Natalie Klemko (Midwestern State University) escaped from the field to solo across the line nearly eight seconds ahead of her nearest threat. Jennifer Bodine (George Washington University) won the only mass-sprint finish of the day with her victory in the women’s 55-minute Division II race.
In addition to the stars-and stripes national championship jerseys and the medals presented to the podium finishers, the USA Cycling Development Foundation will contribute a total of $5,000 to the top three programs in the final Division I and Division II team standings. As part the USA Cycling Collegiate Performance Awards program, Stanford University and Western Washington University will each receive $1,200, while runner-ups UC-Davis and Dartmouth College will each receive $800 and Fort Lewis College and Whitman College will each receive $500. Awards are provided to the collegiate club budget to be used for operational and developmental purposes. Similar awards will be awarded at the 2007 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships in Banner Elk, N.C., October 26-28.
2007 USA Cycling Collegiate Road Nationals
May 10-13
Lawrence Kansas
For complete results, visit www.usacycling.org.
Division I Women’s Criterium
1. Natalie Klemko (Midwestern State University) 59:28.0
2. Kristin McGrath (Fort Lewis College) +0:07.8
3. Erica Allar (Penn State University) +0:09.9
4. Susannah Pratt (University of New Hampshire) s.t.
5. Rebecca Larson (University of Florida) s.t.
Division II Women’s Criterium
1. Jennifer Bodine (George Washington University) 1:03:29.7
2. Kendi Thomas (Whitman College) s.t.
3. Mara Abbott (Whitman College) s.t.
4. Jen Stebbins (Dartmouth College) s.t.
5. Meagan McPhee (Western Washington University) s.t.
Final Division I Women’s Omnium
1. Rebecca Larson (University of Florida) 253
2. Erica Allar (Penn State University) 251
3. Susannah Pratt (University of New Hampshire) 217
4. Hadley Trotter (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill) 178
5. Natalie Klemko (Midwestern State) 176

Final Division II Women’s Omnium
1. Mara Abbott (Whitman College) 274
2. Jennifer Bodine (George Washington University) 226
3. Megan Guarnier (Middlebury College) 216
4. Devon Haskell (University of Chicago) 213
5. Kendi Thomas (Whitman College) 196
Final Division I Overall Standings
1. Stanford 519
2. UC-Davis 430
3. Fort Lewis College 409
4. Midwestern State University 385
5. Colorado State University 347
Final Division II Overall Standings
1. Western Washington University 478
2. Dartmouth College 448
3. Whitman College 405
4. Mesa State 399
5. MIT 340
About USA Cycling
Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 58,000 members and 2,000 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men’s road). For more information, visit www.usacycling.org or contact USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us