Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cycling - 14. May 2007.

Road race titles awarded at collegiate road nationals

Lawrence, Kan. (May 12, 2007)—The 2007 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships continued Saturday as four individual national champions were crowned in the road race event and teams took another step towards securing overall titles.

In the Women’s Division II Road Race, pre-race favorite and two-time defending champion Mara Abbott (Whitman College) rode away from her 53 challengers to claim her third consecutive road race title. Abbott finished 39 seconds ahead of runner-up Megan Guarnier (Middlebury College) and four other chasers in the 56-mile race. After claiming five gold medals in 2006 (road race, criterium, team time trial, individual omnium, team overall), Abbott is on her way to repeating that feat this year with a Whitman College win in Friday’s Team Time Trial. With only Sunday’s criterium remaining, Whitman College is only 25 points behind Western Washington University in the Division II standings.
Sunday’s criterium in downtown Lawrence will provide the final opportunity for teams to move up in their respective divisions in order to claim overall team titles. In the Division II standings, Western Washington University leads Whitman College 346-321, while Dartmouth College (294), Mesa State (293) and MIT (276) are still in contention.
Also on the line Sunday will be individual overall titles as competitors will score points in the criterium to add to their road race points earned on Saturday. Criterium points and road race points will be combined to name four individual overall champions.
Saturday's road race provided an added element of challenge after stormy weather in the region left the original road race course flooded. After arriving on Wednesday, race officials and the local organizer were forced to re-route the course and use a short gravel section that connects Perry State Park with the main road race course.

2007 USA Cycling Collegiate Road Nationals
May 10-13
Lawrence Kansas
For complete results, visit www.usacycling.org
Division I Women’s Road Race
1. Rebecca Larson (University of Florida) 2:47.52
2. Erica Allar (Penn State University) s.t.
3. Margaret Shirley (Columbia University) s.t.
4. Susannah Pratt (University of New Hampshire) s.t.
5. Anna McLoon (Harvard) s.t.

Division II Women’s Road Race
1. Mara Abbott (Whitman College) 2:57.15
2. Megan Guarnier (Middlebury College) +0:33
3. Devon Haskell (University of Chicago) s.t.
4. Ashley Anderson (Furman University) s.t.
5. Martha Buckley (MIT) s.t.
Division I Overall Standings
1. Stanford 351
2. Fort Lewis College 343
3. University of California-Davis 305
4. Midwestern State University 278
5. University of Florida 253
Division II Overall Standings
1. Western Washington University 346
2. Whitman College 321
3. Dartmouth College 294
4. Mesa State 293
5. MIT 276
About USA Cycling
Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 58,000 members and 2,000 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men’s road). For more information, visit www.usacycling.org or contact USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.
This Article Published 2007-05-12 19:18:56 For more information contact: [email protected]

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us