Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Golf - 06. February 2008.


6 February 2008, St Andrews, Scotland: The R&A has announced that a record number of 91 students will, this year, receive Foundation Bursary funding. Individual bursaries range in size from £500 to £3,000. Students from Belgium, Iceland, Italy, New Zealand and Zambia are amongst those awarded bursaries, which are intended to enable golfers to combine their studies with competitive play.


The R&A’s total annual spend on university golf currently exceeds £320,000 and includes grants to support golf programmes at 12 universities in Great Britain and Ireland.

The Old and Eden Courses in St Andrews will provide the venues for The R&A bursars’ tournament in April. For the first time, World Amateur Golf Ranking points are at stake in this event and the winning male student will gain an automatic place in Europe’s 2008 Palmer Cup team to play against the United States of America at Glasgow Gailes at the end of June. In the women’s event, the winner will be offered a place in the field at one of the LET’s tournaments this season.

Name Place of Study Home Club
Helena Arnadottir Iceland Reykjavik, Iceland
Allessandra Averna Universata Bocconni Molinetto, Italy
Adam Best Teesside Cleveland
Paul Betty Stirling Hayston
David Booth Stirling Rotherham
Megan Briggs Strathclyde Kilmacolm
Euan Brown Strathclyde Kilmarnock (Barassie)
Holly Calvert Stirling Silloth
Rachel Cassidy Stirling The Island
Louise Coffey Ulster Warrenpoint
Federico Colombo Milan Brianza, Italy
Sarah Cunningham Maynooth Ennis
Cian Curley Maynooth Newlands
Lucinda Davies Birmingham Peterborough Milton
Matthew Davies Birmingham Kington
Mark Davies Exeter Coventry Hearsall
Gavin Dear Stirling Murrayshall
Mark Dickson Edinburgh Alwoodley
John Duff Aberdeen Newmachar
Daniel Elder Dundee Carnoustie
Emma Fairnie Edinburgh Dunbar
Stephanie Farrar Stirling Sandiway
Nick Feinberg St Andrews Troy, USA
Sam Foster Exeter Coventry Hearsall
Kevin Garwood Bournemouth Surrey National
James Gill St Andrews Hamilton, New Zealand
Cameron Gray St Andrews West Kilbride
Iwan Griffiths Swansea Aberdare
Carwyn Hammond Northumbria Pontardawe
Chris Harkins Glasgow Ayr Belleisle
Sean Heads Northumbria Hexham
Joanne Hodge Buckinghamshire Chilterns Knowle
Steven Hume Abertay Murrayshall
Nikki Hunter Northumbria Gosforth
Vincent Kabaso Bridgwater College Roan Antelope, Zambia
Mark Kerr Napier, Edinburgh Craigmillar Park
Niamh Kitching Limerick Claremorris
Grant Little St Andrews Brampton
Alexander Main Edinburgh Thornton
Alex McCloy Ulster Ballymena
Anne McCormack Maynooth Roscommon
Kelan McDonagh Maynooth Athlone
Jarred McKnight Loughborough Whittington Heath
Naoimh McMahon Limerick Shannon
Louise Mernagh Maynooth Woodenbridge
James Monaghan Maynooth The Island
Gillian Monteith Strathclyde Portpatrick
Fraser Moore Stirling Falkirk Tryst
David Morrison North Highland College, DornochDuff House Royal
Alex Morton Birmingham Shifnal
Alan Murdoch Stirling Stranraer
Aedin Murphy Maynooth Carlow
Laura Murray Robert Gordon, Aberdeen Alford
Torel Neider Myerscough Tallinn, Estonia
Ciaran O’Connor Dublin Athlone
Philippe Okan St Andrews Meerbusch, Germany
Gillian O’Leary Dublin Cork
Christopher O’Neill Cardiff Radyr
Edward Parker Birmingham Crewe
James Patterson Queens, Belfast Royal Portrush
Christina Petersson Northumbria Gavle, Sweden
Euan Polson Stirling Inverness
Pamela Pretswell Glasgow Bothwell Castle
Pierre Relecom Brussels Royal Waterloo, Belgium
Darren Renwick Chichester College Worthing
Samuel Riddell Birmingham Chipping Sodbury
Andrea Romano Bologna Modena, Italy
Anna Roscio Turin Turin, Italy
Alexander Rule Loughborough Hartley Wintney
Bobby Rushford Stirling Grangemouth
Elliot Shaw Cardiff The Herefordshire
Karl Shepherd Stirling Renishaw Park
James Smedley Sheffield Hallam Hallowes
Andrew Smedley Birmingham Notts
Gordon Stevenson St Andrews Whitecraigs
Ami Storey Northumbria Ponteland
Colin Thomson Stirling East Renfrewshire
Catherine Tucker Limerick Limerick
Graham Turner Stirling West Linkton
Andrew Wallace Stirling Glenbervie
Brendan Walton Maynooth The Island
Simon Ward Ulster Co Louth
Jonathan Watt Stirling Brokenhurst Manor
James White Stirling Lundin
Jon White Plymouth Saunton
Craig Wilkinson Northumbria Blyth
Lucy Williams Birmingham Mid Herts
Jonathan Williams Cardiff Vale of Glamorgan
Richard Williams Cardiff Vale of Glamorgan
Ian Winstanley Leeds Formby
Gordon Yates Stirling Hilton Park

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us