Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Athletics - 27. June 2007.

Norwich Union GB&NI team for IAAF World Youth Championships


Included are two athletes who went to the top of the World Under 18 rankings with their performances at the trials, which were incorporated into the Norwich Union England Athletics Under 20 Championships at Bedford last weekend. Christopher Clarke clocked 46.70 seconds in the 400m and Asha Philip, won the Under 20 Women’s 100m in 11.37 seconds to break the UK Under 17s’ 100m record that had been held for 14 years by Katharine Merry, who went on to win the Olympic 400m silver medal at Sydney in 2000.

“We have a really strong team of 13 boys and 14 girls to help get the country excited on the way to London 2012,” said Team Leader Paula Dunn, the former GB international sprinter who is now a UKA Talent Development Manager. “All 27 are capable of finishing in the top 10 of their events, which amounts to tremendous potential at World level. This will be a great learning experience as they prepare to grow into successful seniors.” The full Female team is:

Under 18 Women – 100m: Ashlee Nelson (City of Stoke AC), Asha Philip (Newham and Essex Beagles). 800m: Alison Leonard (Blackburn Harriers), Lynsey Sharp (Edinburgh AC). 1500m: Louise Small (Aldershot, Farnham and District). 3000m: Beth Potter (City of Glasgow). 2000m steeplechase: Sarah Hopkinson (Gloucester AC), Louise Webb (Team Southampton). 100m hurdles: Ashley Helsby (Liverpool Harriers), Jenny Taker (Trafford AC). Long jump: Abigail Irzuzu (Sale Harriers Manchester), Jade Nimmo (Falkirk Victoria Harriers). Shot and Discus: Shaunagh Brown (Blackheath and Bromley). Hammer: Sophie Hitchon (Pendle AC).

Information, news, quotes, blah, blah, rhubarb, etc bbb
Richard Warburton, Communications Manager – Performance
T: +44(0)870 998 6709
M: +44(0)770 109 9763
E: [email protected]

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Vixens stave off Magpies in opening round closer
Reigning premiers claim Round 1 victory
Please follow us