Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
- 07. August 2007.

Nominations to 2007 MTB World Championship Team announced

Colorado Springs, Colo. (August 6, 2007)—
With only one year remaining until the Olympic Games in Beijing, American cross country athletes will square off against fellow 2008 hopefuls from across the globe in the only Olympic discipline of off-road cycling. Seven men and eight women have been nominated to the elite cross country squad.

Willow Koerber (Ashville, N.C./Subaru-Gary Fisher) and Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven) were automatically nominated – Koerber by virtue of her two podium performances at UCI World Cup events this year in Switzerland and Canada and McConneloug as the USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Champion. Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Gary Fisher) and Georgia Gould (Ketchum, Idaho/Luna) were coaches’ selections. Sue Haywood (Davis, W. Va./Trek-VW), Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Trek-VW) and Shonny Vanlandingham (Durango, Colo./Luna) received discretionary nominations. Vanlandingham and Haywood both declined their nominations and will be replaced by Kelli Emmett (Colorado Springs, Colo./Giant).

U23 women’s national champion Chloe Forsman (Boulder, Colo./Luna) was an automatic nomination to the U23 women’s cross country squad and will be joined by discretionary selection Caitlyn Tuel (Boulder, Colo./Trek-VW) on the two-woman team.
In the junior cross country categories, Stephanie White (Bedford, N.H./Velo Bella) and Amy Cox (Scottsdale, Ariz./Strada) comprise the women’s team. Gilmour and White were automatic nominations as national champions while the balance of the junior cross country squad was nominated as discretionary picks.
In the gravity events, Kathy Pruitt (Lake Almanor, Calif./Jamis), Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz./KHS), Lisa Myklak (Boulder, Colo./Leelikesbikes.com), Amelia Colosurdo (Seattle, Wash./Bear Naked-Cannonadale) and Darian Harvey (Durango, Colo./Durango Roughriders) all received nominations to the elite women’s downhill squad.

Representing the United States in 4-cross competition will be Buhl, Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./GT), Jessica Vogt (Boulder, Colo./Dianese-Gamut-Fox), Tara Llanes (Los Alamitos, Calif./Giant) and Neven Steinmetz (Durango, Colo./TM Totally Wired) for the women
In the junior downhill categories, one woman – Chrissie Pinney (Concord, Calif./Ride SFO)

2007 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships
Fort William, Scotland
September 3-9
U.S. Team Nominations:

Elite Women’s Cross Country
1. Willow Koerber (Ashville, N.C.)
2. Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo.)
3. Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass.)
4. Georgia Gould (Ketchum, Idaho)
5. Sue Haywood (Davis, W. Va.)
6. Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt.) trek
7. Kelli Emmett (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
8. Shonny Vanlandingham (Durango, Colo.)

U23 Women’s Cross Country
1. Chloe Forsman (Boulder, Colo.)
2. Caitlyn Tuel (Boulder, Colo.)
Junior Women’s Cross Country
1. Stephanie White (Bedford, N.H.)
2. Amy Cox (Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Elite Women’s Downhill
1. Kathy Pruitt (Lake Almanor, Calif.)
2. Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz.)
3. Lisa Myklak (Boulder, Colo.)
4. Amelia Colosurdo (Seattle, Wash.)
5. Darian Harvey (Durango, Colo.)
Junior Women’s Downhill
1. Chrissie Pinney (Concord, Calif.)
Elite Women’s 4-Cross
1. Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash.)
2. Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz.)
3. Jessica Vogt (Boulder, Colo.)
4. Tara Llanes (Los Alamitos, Calif.)
5. Neven Steinmetz (Boulder, Colo.)

*declined nomination
About USA Cycling
Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 60,000 members and 2,500 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men’s road). For more information, visit www.usacycling.org or contact USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.

This Article Published 2007-08-06 19:46:05 For more information contact: [email protected]

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us