Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Netball - 11. June 2007.

Marlins win the Singapore Super League

The Netball Super League (NSL) 2007 was concluded, with Marlins emerging Champions after a 2 month event. Marlins won the championship by beating Vipers 40 – 24 to cap off an exceptional season in which they were undefeated. Mr Teo Ser Luck, Parliamentary Secretary for Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports was the Guest-of-Honour for the finals.
photo by Darren Teo

Goal Attack Li Ling put up a superb performance as she scored 27 goals for her side. “We were very patient as a team and made good passes. I’m just happy that the team won because it’s my first championship in the three years I have played in the NSL,” said Li Ling, who played for the Vipers last year.

The Most Valuable Player for Marlins was player-coach Susan Sidhu. She said, “Today’s victory was a team effort. From our defence to the midfield’s feeding of the shooters, it was all good.”

Injuries hampered the Vipers, with three starting shooters missing the final. “We were in control of the game for certain periods, but we couldn’t sustain it. Many of our players were played out of position because of the injuries we had,” said Vipers player-coach Joanne Loo, who won the Most Valuable Coach award along with co-coach Lee Min Li.

On the same day, the World Championship Squad was announced. 12 players from this 18-member squad will represent Singapore in the 5 Nations Netball Cup from 3 – 8 Sept and in the World Netball Championship in Auckland, NZ in November.

Final Results

NSL 2007 Champions ~ Marlins

2nd ~Vipers
3rd ~ Stingrays
4th ~ Arowanas
5th ~ Mannas
6th ~ Sharks

• Most Commendable Umpire – Vincent Ong
• Most Outstanding Umpire – Wang Jing Qing
• Most Valuable Coach - Lee Min Li & Joanne Loo (co-coaches Vipers)
• MVP (Arowanas) - Nurul Ain Binti Ramlan
• MVP (Mannas) – Janice Tan
• MVP (Marlins) - Susan Sidhu
• MVP (Sharks) - Hong Wei Zhen
• MVP (Stingrays) - Ng Yee Leen
• MVP (Vipers) - Premila Hirubalan

World Championship Squad

Ang Shi Qi
Pearline Chan
Chen Huifen
Jeanine Heng
Premila Hirubalan
Yasmin Ho
Koh Kai Ling
Vanessa Lee
Li Ling
Lin Qing Yi
Jean Ng
Charlene Porima
Grace Sim
Tan Hui Yan
Wendy Tan
Yeo Pei Qin
Rachel Yim
Zhang Ting Jun


Jane Sng

Netball Singapore

Tel: 6346 5063 Ext 117

Fax: 6345 6750

Visit us @ www.netball.org.sg

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us