Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating

Lucy MacGregor wins ISAF Womens Match

Lucy MacGregor (GBR) Wins ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship
Sunday 26 September 2010

It went down to the very final race at the 2010 ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship with Lucy MacGregor (GBR) taking on double world champion Sally Barkow (USA).  MacGregor took the final win to take the title for Great Britain for the first time.

If Lucy MacGregor and her British team felt pressure in her semi-finals match against Claire Leroy (FRA), it was nothing compared to the emotions she felt coming from behind to win her first ISAF Match Racing World Championship.

Macgregor defeated two-time world champion Leroy in the semi-final then faced the American team led by Sally Barkow, also a two-time world champion. Barkow led the British team 2-1 by consistently gaining the advantage to the right side of the course as the lead changed almost each leg.

The final two races Barkow was able to pull even but MacGregor was just a little faster and crisper on the beats. In the fourth race, the British team passed Barkow while giving the Americans a penalty they could not overcome.

"We were gaining all the time," said a beaming MacGregor with her teammates Annie Lush, Kate Macgregor and Mary Rook. "We just wanted to keep it close."

And close it was. But it was the final start that predicted gold for the British. "The time on distance was hard, and we were on our back foot the whole prestart," said Kate Macgregor, Lucy's sister. "With the current going up wind we just made it."  MacGregor's team, coached by ISAF Match Racing World Champion Ian Williams, won the right side that paid so well for the Americans and kept the slimmest of leads all the way around the course.

For Barkow, though her team of Elizabeth Kratzig, Alana O'reilly and Susanne Leech, did not win, their second place qualifies them for the top level of funding for the US Sailing Team Alpha Graphics in 2011. They join only one other team in the U.S. with this distinction, Paige Railey in the Laser Radial. 

The petit-final match up to decide the bronze medal also went to the maximum, three races. Leroy won the first match against Nicky Souter and then her Australian team gave the French a foul in the second; it was enough to win the race.

In the third and final race, with the boats nearly overlapped all the way around the course, Souter received a penalty on the final run in a wild broach and luff. The Australian team came out ahead then was able to hook the French and sailed them upwind 200 yards until they were able to clear their penalty with a tack and perfect set to win the series.

This world championship will certainly go down as one of the most competitive in history and Barkow's coach, national match race champion Dave Perry, put the state of women's match racing in perspective. "This regatta indicates that anyone of eight or more teams can win a gold medal in Weymouth in 2012," said Perry. "In the gold fleet round robin, four of the six teams were tied with three wins. All this shows is nobody has put it all together yet. There are no breakaways."

The rest of the teams not sailing watching from the 100-foot schooner Meteor, teams cheered and watch pensively as the boats raced around as if they were tied to each other. Whether they won or finished the regatta in the repechage series, all the sailors were hungry to carry on with their campaigns and set their sites on the 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition.

The 2011 ISAF Women's Match Racing World Champion will be decided at the Perth2011 ISAF Sailing World Championship in Perth, Australia.

Final Results
1 Lucy MacGregor (GBR)
2 Sally Barkow (USA)
3 Nicky Souter (AUS)
4 Claire Leroy (FRA)
5 Genevieve Tulloch (USA)
6 Ekaterina Skudina (RUS)
7 Renee Groeneveld (NED
8 Katie Spithill (AUS)

All the latest details on the 2010 Worlds, together with an archive of results from previous championships is available on the ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship microsite at www.sailing.org/wmatchworlds

Attached Image:  Lucy MacGregor lifts the trophy and celebrates winning the 2010 ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship
Mandatory Credit:  © Fried Bits / www.friedbits.com

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us