Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Athletics - 26. February 2008.

Jones, Nelson win Visa Championship; Cantwell wins men's SP at AT&T USA Indoor Championships

BOSTON - Lolo Jones took the women's Visa title Sunday at the 2008 AT&T USA Indoor Track & Field Championships at the Reggie Lewis Center, on the campus of Roxbury Community College.

The final event of the Visa Championship Series, the meet served as the qualifying event for Team USA's roster for the 2008 IAAF World Indoor Track & Field Championships, to be held March 7-9 in Valencia, Spain. The top two finishers in each event qualified, provided they have met IAAF performance standards.

Lolo Jones won two titles on Sunday. On the track, she won her second straight indoor national crown in the Nike women's 60m hurdles. She finished strong over the final two hurdles to win in 7.88 seconds, earning 1194 points on the IAAF scoring tables to take the women's $25,000 Visa Championship prize. Candice Davis was second in the race in 7.90.

Jones had a scare for the Visa title, however. Two-time World Indoor silver medalist Angela Williams ran an impressive race in the Visa women's 60m, dashing to a time of 7.11. Her effort was worth 1183 points, just shy of Jones' total, causing Jones to do a celebratory jig. Alexis Joyce was second in 7.21, winning the second spot on Team USA in a photo-finish over 2007 World Outdoor bronze medalist Carmelita Jeter, who also was timed in 7.21. Joyce got the nod by three-hundredths of a second, 7.203 to 7.206. Miki Barber was fourth in 7.22.

Hot half-miles


The women's 800 marked the return to top form for 34-year-old Nicole Teter. The American indoor record holder and 2004 Olympic Trials runner-up won her third career USA Indoor title in 2:02.65, holding off Nicole Cook in second at 2:02.86. Alisa Harvey once again lowered her American masters record, placing sixth in 2:05.75. 2004 champion Rob Myers returned to the winner's podium in the Nike 1,500m, running a strong final 400 to win in 3:40.89 over Russell Brown in 3:41.20.

Amber Campbell won her second consecutive title in the Gill women's weight throw with a best mark of 23.23m/76-2.75, with Kristal Yush second with 22.62m/74-2.5. In the men's WT, Kibwe Johnson won his first Gill men's WT national indoor title with a mark of 25.12m/82-5 over four-time champ A.G. Kruger, who was second with 24.07m/78-11.75. Also in the field, Trevell Quinley won the men's long jump with a mark of 7.82/25-8, over Joe Allen (7.71m/25-3.5).

Vaill victorious for seventh time

Teresa Vaill won her seventh career indoor title in the women's 3,000m race walk in 13:08.40, putting her one shy of a record eighth win. Her other titles date back more than 20 years, to 1984-'86 and and '89-'91. Joanne Dow was second in 13:09.61.

The women's triple jump saw Shakeema Welsch jump 13.94m/45-9 to defeat two-time indoor champion Shani Marks (13.87m/45-6.25). Shareese Woods won the second heat of the women's 400m to take her first U.S. title in 52.03, with heat 1 winner Moushaumi Robinson, a 2004 Olympic 4x400m relay gold medalist, second in 52.33. David Neville won the Hershey men's 400 in 46.34, with Greg Nixon second in 46.72.


For more information, including complete results and athlete quotes, visit www.usatf.org

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us