Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Paralympic sports - 03. June 2007.

IPC/IAKS Distinction 2007 Awarded

Bonn, Germany - A jury composed of international experts from the International Paralympic Committee (IPC), the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS), recently met in Cologne, Germany, to assign the IOC/IAKS Award 2007 and the IPC/IAKS Distinction for Accessibility.

The Jury awarded four gold, four silver and 12 bronze medals as well as nine special distinctions. The IPC/IAKS Distinction for Accessibility went to seven participants.

The IPC/IAKS Distinction recognizes the world's best accessible sports and leisure facilities. It aims to promote accessibility to sports facilities and other buildings in order to give persons with a disability the opportunity to practise or view sport without limitation or barriers. 2007 is the second time that the IPC/IAKS Distinction for Accessibility will be awarded.

The special winners were the Olympic Stadium in Berlin, Germany, and the Oval Lingotto in Torino, Italy. Both won gold medals in the IOC/IAKS AWARD as well as the IPC/IAKS Distinction.

The IPC/IAKS Distinction was awarded to seven projects:

· Olympiastadion Berlin (Germany)
Architect: gmp - Architekten von Gerkan, Marg und Partner, Berlin
· Oval Lingotto, Torino (Italy)
Architect: Studio Zoppini Associati, Mailand with HOK Sport LTD, London
· Commerzbank Arena in Frankfurt (Germany)
Architect: gmp - Architekten von Gerkan, Marg und Partner, Hamburg
· West Vancouver Aquatic Centre (Canada)
Architect: Hughes Condon Marler Architects, Vancouver
· Erich-Fischer-Halle in Aldingen (Germany)
Architect: Dipl.-Ing. Uwe Bertsche, Aldingen
· CSR Slowianka in Gorzow (Poland)
Architect: ETC ARCHITEKCI sp. z o.o., Wroclaw
· Sportzentrum am Hubland in Würzburg (Germany)
Architect: Thiele LandschaftsArchitekten GmbH, Schwabach

The IOC/IAKS AWARD is the only architecture award of international importance for existing sports and leisure facilities. This year, 88 teams of operators and designers from 27 countries took part in the competition.

The awards will be presented during the 20th International IAKS Congress in
conjunction with the international trade fair "Amenity Areas, Sports and Pool
Facilities" (FSB) from 31 October to 2 November 2007 in Cologne, Germany.
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us