Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Squash - 18. July 2007.

Hoe Hin White Flower Ointment World Junior Women’s Squash Championships Boast Record Entry!

Hong Kong Squash is honoured to host the world event, sanctioned by the World Squash Federation, which has attracted over 100 athletes competing in the individual and team events.

"The Championship is granted the Arts and Sport Development Fund administered by the Home Affairs Bureau of the Hong Kong SAR Government as a Major International Event," said a spokesman for Hong Kong Squash. "With the support of the title-sponsor, Hoe Hin White Flower Ointment, and other co-sponsors including the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Perrier and Kowloon Cricket Club, we anticipate a successful and enjoyable event for all participants coming from all parts of the world."

The participating countries include Australia, Barbados, Canada, China, Egypt, England, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland, Turkey, USA, Zimbabwe and Hong Kong. All of their leading players will compete in the individual and team events making up a new record entry for the Championships. The current world champion team comprising Annie Au and Leung Shin-nga together with the two new members, Liu Tsz-ling and Tong Tsz-wing will represent Hong Kong to defend the team title.

Eyes will also be on the individual event, in which a total of 106 junior players will compete. Egypt's Raneem El Weleily is seeded to become only the second girl in history to retain the prestigious title. In the full draw revealed today, the 18-year-old favourite from Alexandria is given a bye in the first round - and will then play the winner of the match between Hong Kong's Dorothy Ko and New Zealander Aliesha Watene

Local interest will be led by Annie Au, the new Asian junior champion from Hong Kong who is seeded to reach the semi-finals. Au will be joined in the individual event by ten other girls from the host nation - including Leung Shin-nga, Liu Tsz-ling, Tong Tsz-wing, Dorothy Ko Sin-ting, Anthea Yung On-sang, Siu Ka-man, Chong Man-kiu, Lee Ka-man, Szeto Ka-hei and Chan Wing-hei. With the support of the home crowd, the Hong Kong players are certain to do their best to fight for medals and glory for their home nation.

"Hong Kong Squash wishes to express its sincere gratitude to Hoe Hin White Flower Ointment, the title sponsors, to the Home Affairs Bureau, and also to the co-sponsors who all contribute so generously to ensure the success of such world event." said Mr. David Mui, MH, Chairman of Hong Kong Squash. “I wish all the players, spectators and officials a most enjoyable and exciting week of squash."

Mr. Gan Wee Sean, Chairman & Executive Director of Hoe Hin Pak Fah Yeow Manufactory Limited, added: "2007 is a very special year for us – not only being our 80th Anniversary, but also the year when our HK lady, Ms Annie Au, won the Asian Junior Champion which we are proud of being the title sponsor of the event. I would like to take this opportunity to wish Hong Kong Squash every success and the very best of luck for the future! Finally, I wish all the players to enjoy the game and acquire the most prominent achievements."

The Hoe Hin White Flower Ointment World Junior Women's Squash Championships 2007 will be staged at the Cornwall Street Park Squash Centre and the Boundary Street Sports Centre No1. The Individual event from August 1 to 6 will be followed by the Team event from August 7 to 11. The semi-finals and final matches will be played in an all-glass championship court (donated by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust) installed at the Boundary Street Sports Centre, a conveniently located popular venue in Mongkok area.

First round draw:

[1] Raneem El Weleily (EGY) bye

Dorothy Ko (HKG) v Aliesha Watene (NZL)

Surbhi Misra (IND) v Stephanie Muller (GER)

[17/32] Tsz Ling Liu (HKG) v Julie Cerullo (USA)

[17/32] Gabrielle de Lavison (FRA) v Robyn Baptiste (RSA)

Jennifer Gemmell (CAN) v Nessrine Ariffin (MAS)

Stacey Plenderleith (ZIM) v Ding Yating (CHN)

[9/16] Melody Francis (AUS) bye

[9/16] Nour Bahgat (EGY) bye

Ikuko Tao (JPN) v Anne Madeira (USA)

Ji-Hyun Lee (KOR) v Siu Ka Man (HKG)

[17/32] Victoria Bell (ENG) bye

[17/32] Nouran El Torky (EGY) v Robyn Hodgson (SCO)

Jackie Moss (CAN) v Harita Omprakash (IND)

Kimberly Chew Lin (SIN) v Emma Miller (NZL)

[5/8] Low Wee Wern (MAS) bye

[5/8] Heba El Torky (EGY) bye

Cheyna Tucker (RSA) v Caroline Bachem (SUI)

Lisa Marie Sedlmeier (GER) v Maria Toor Pakay (PAK)

[17/32] Sarah Parsons (CAN) v Lisa Aitken (SCO)

[17/32] Kimberley Bessell (AUS) bye

Karla Chong (HKG) v Kimberley Hay (ENG)

Sarah Gilmore (NZL) v Faustine Gilles (FRA)

[9/16] Logan Greer (USA) bye

[9/16] Laura Gemmell (CAN) bye

Sarah Dennehy (AUS) v Nicole Chua (SIN)

Shivangi Paranjpe (IND) v Catherine McTaggart (ZIM)

[17/32] Milou van der Heijden (NED) v Tong Tsz Wing (HKG)

[17/32] Milnay Louw (RSA) v Zehra Ahgoren (TUR)

Kwon Sung-Eun (KOR) v Sarah Toomey (USA)

Tan Yan Xin (MAS) v Salma Hany (EGY)

[3/4] Joelle King (NZL) bye

[3/4] Annie Au (HKG) bye

Laura Pomportes (FRA) v Farah Momen (EGY)

Lizane Vlok (RSA) v Chan Wing Hei (HKG)

[17/32] Sun-Mi Song (KOR) v Roisin Brennan (IRL)

[17/32] Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) bye

Sarah Cardwell (AUS) v Ilona Lagerweij (NED)

Lana Harrison (NZL) v Hannah Conant (USA)

[9/16] Dipika Pallikal (IND) bye

[9/16] Alia Balbaa (EGY) bye

Coline Aumard (FRA) v Qian Jiayi (CHN)

Michelle Williams (ZIM) v Natasha Kingshott (USA)

[17/32] Astrid Kern (GER) v Szeto Ka Hei (HKG)

[17/32] Low Wee Nee (MAS) bye

Agapi Kazamia (SUI) v Amanda Cranston (NZL)

Jillian Lye (SIN) v Carmen Lee (HKG)

[5/8] Victoria Lust (ENG) bye

[5/8] Sina Wall (GER) bye

Cigany Sierveld (NED) v Pushppa Devi (MAS)

Yang Youn-Soo (KOR) v Alana Sincock (NZL)

[17/32] Jasmin Ballman (SUI) v Bianca Cohen (ZIM)

[17/32] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) bye

Nour El Tayeb (EGY) v Laura Stock (AUS)

Anwesha Reddy (IND) v Olivia Blatchford (USA)

[9/16] Shin Nga Leung (HKG) bye

[9/16] Kerry Wickett (NZL) bye

Xiu Chen (CHN) v Cheri-Ann Parris (BAR)

Mayu Yamazaki (JPN) v Alushca Botha (RSA)

[17/32] Melissa Meulenbelt (NED) bye

[17/32] Emily Park (USA) v Samantha Cornett (CAN)

Mao Shi Hui (SIN) v Maggy Marshall (AUS)

Anthea Yung (HKG) v Salma Nassar (EGY)

[2] Camille Serme (FRA) bye

Issued by Howard Harding on behalf of WSF

Tel: +44 (0)1737-243333; Mobile: +44 (0)7773-325130

Email: [email protected]


WSQ 3970 17 July 2007

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us