Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Volleyball - 03. April 2008.

FIVB confirms match schedule for Women’s World Olympic Qualification Tournament in Tokyo


Japan will face Kazakhstan on May 20 at the Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament in Tokyo

Lausanne, April 2, 2008 – The FIVB has confirmed the match schedule for the Women’s World Olympic Qualification Tournament in Tokyo, Japan, that will decide the remaining four places available in the Beijing Olympics Women’s Volleyball Tournament.

The round-robin tournament through May 17-25 doubles up as the Asian Olympic Qualification Tournament and so the best three teams plus the best Asian team (even if any of the best three teams are Asian) will book their tickets to Beijing.

Hosts Japan will be joined by Thailand, Korea, Kazakhstan (best-ranked teams at the Asian Continental Championship), Serbia, Poland (best world-ranked teams from CEV), Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico (best world-ranked teams from NORCECA).

Women’s World Olympic Qualification Tournament, Tokyo, Japan (May 17-25)

Saturday, May 17
Thailand vs. Dominican Republic (11:05)
Korea vs. Puerto Rico (13:05)
Serbia vs. Kazakhstan (15:05)
Poland vs. Japan (18:00)

Sunday, May 18
Dominican Republic vs. Serbia (11:05)
Korea vs. Thailand (13:05)
Kazakhstan vs. Poland (15:05)
Puerto Rico vs. Japan (18:00)

Monday, May 19 – Rest Day

Tuesday, May 20
Thailand vs. Puerto Rico (11:35)
Serbia vs. Korea (13:35)
Poland vs. Dominican Republic (15:35)
Japan vs. Kazakhstan (18:30)

Wednesday, May 21
Thailand vs. Serbia (11:35)
Puerto Rico vs. Kazakhstan (13:35)
Korea vs. Poland (15:35)
Dominican Republic vs. Japan (18:30)

Thursday, May 22 – Rest Day

Friday, May 23
Kazakhstan vs. Dominican Republic (11:35)
Serbia vs. Puerto Rico (13:35)
Poland vs. Thailand (15:35)
Japan vs. Korea (18:30)

Saturday, May 24
Puerto Rico vs. Dominican Republic (11:05)
Serbia vs. Poland (13:05)
Korea vs. Kazakhstan (15:05)
Thailand vs. Japan (18:00)

Sunday, May 25
Dominican Republic vs. Korea (11:05)
Kazakhstan vs. Thailand (13:05)
Poland vs. Puerto Rico (15:05)
Japan vs. Serbia (18:00)

Italy, Brazil, USA, Algeria, Russia, Cuba and Venezuela have already booked their tickets to Beijing through the FIVB 2007 World Cup or Continental Qualification Tournaments, while China have qualified as the host country.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us