Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Rugby - 16. April 2008.

English Super League returns

The Rugby Football Union for Women’s highly successful Super League series returns this Sunday at Heythrop Park in Oxfordshire.

In its third year, the tournament has provided a high level of intense competition for England’s elite players as well as players in Wales, Scotland and Ireland.

Last Year's winners London Celebrate

There will be three teams of English players led by top coaches and a Celtic team who will compete in three rounds of tough rugby, before the top two teams compete for the converted Super League crown at Heythrop Park on May 31st.

England A Head Coach Mike Barnett and Richard Arnold will coach the Thunder team which includes the like of RBS 6 Nations winners Maggie Alphonsi, Rochelle Clark and Karen Jones.

Former England A Head Coach Amanda Bennett and Mark Francis will coach the Tornadoes which includes England props Katy Storie and Sophie Hemming while the Stormers, a team that includes England captain Catherine Spencer, will be coached by former England international Jenny Lyne and Ian Davies. Liza Burgess, a former Welsh international, and Karen Findlay will coach the Hurricanes Celtic team.

RFUW World Class Programmes Manager Nicola Ponsford said: “Over the last few years Super League has provided us with a strong, competitive tournament that has pitted players against each other from across England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland. It has also been a very useful addition to the club and international calendar we have.

“Just as importantly, it gives players selected through the Regional Programme, the chance to play against some of the best international players in Europe as they look to develop their game. We are very much looking forward to another successful and enthralling series this season.”

Super League match schedule:

Round One – April 20th, 2008 Heythrop Park

Thunder v Stormers 12:00pm

Tornadoes v Hurricanes 13:45

Round 2 – May 4th, 2008 Heythrop Park

Celtic v Thunder 12:00

Tornadoes v Stormers13:45

Round 3 – May 11th, 2008

Thunder v Tornadoes 12:00

Stormers v Celtic 13:45

Super League Final – May 31st, Heythrop Park kick-off time TBC

Super League squads


Margaret Alphonsi Saracens

Sara Anastasi Richmond

Tracey Balmer Worcester

Charlotte Boggis Exeter University

Rochelle Clark Henley

Pippa Crews Worcester

Rosemarie Crowley Lichfield

Jen Floyd Bath

Sarah Graham Lichfield

Karen Jones Richmond

Susannah Kendall Plymouth Albion

Dani Knight Lichfield

Francesca Matthews Richmond

Adrienne McAlpine Wasps

Joanna McGilchrist Wasps

Laura Nash Leos

Fiona Pocock Richmond

Ollie Poore Lichfield

Rebecca Roby Exeter University

Georgina Rozario Plymouth Albion

Heidi Shelburg-Naea Wasps

Ally Taft Lichfield


Francis Archer

Sarah Beale Leos

Samantha Bree Worcester

Rachel Broadhurst Waterloo

Rowena Burnfield Richmond

Sam Dale Worcester

Emma Dresser Lichfield

Rachel Fraser Morpeth RFC

Joanna Hart Camp Hill

Sophie Hemming Clifton

Sarah Hunter Lichfield

Laura Keates Worcester

Christina Lee Clifton

Michelle Lloyd Worcester

La Toya Mason Blaydon Team Northumbria

Katy McLean Darlington Mowden Pak Sharks

Davinia Monteiro Wasps

Lois Moulding Lichfield

Karina Page Old Albanian Saints

Darel Poole Bath

Emily Scarratt Lichfield

Katy Storie Blaydon Team Northumbria


Natalie Binstead Wasps

April Brown Saracens

Georgina Crabb Richmond

Kimberley Davy Richmond

Elisa Dee Saracens

Amy Garnett Saracens

Hannah Grant Clifton

Sarah Guest Worcester

Kym Hammond Leos

Vicki Jackson Lichfield

Samantha Jamieson Darlington Mowden Pak Sharks

Jane Leonard Wasps

Louise Leonard Blaydon Team Northumbria

Monica Lewinska Clifton

Sarah McKenna Old Albanian Saints

Helen Price Waterloo

Claire Purdy Wasps

Shelley Rae Wasps

Clare Robinson Loughborough

Catherine Spencer Worcester

Alexandra Stevens Lichfield



Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us