Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Rugby - 30. July 2007.


Jamie Kift was awarded the National Squad player of the year by the WWRU National Squad coaches from a shortlist of herself, Liza Burgess and Naomi Thomas. Jamie was selected for her fantastic attitude and commitment on and off the pitch; her reliability and the respect she deservedly earned from team mates and opposition. Further to this she had the most carries, tackles and turnovers in every Six Nations 2007 game and is truly a phenomenal player.

Philippa Tuttiett picked up the Development Squad player of the year from a shortlist of herself Rachel Taylor and Michaela Reed. The reason for Philippa's selection was for her immense leadership, support for younger players and self-discipline displayed throughout training and matches. Further to this her work rate, communication and organisational skills shone through and it was a unanimous decision by the coaches.

Finally in the international game, Clare Flowers was presented with the Dennis Donovan Memorial Award, a plaque in honour of the late father of player Claire Donovan who was a committed, loyal and unconditional support of women's rugby in Wales.

The award is to appreciate endeavour. Dennis recognised hard work and delighted in achievement against the odds and Clare was the worthy the recipient this season. Clare had a difficult season, with her Mum, who was the number one supporter of the women's team, passing away during the autumn. Clare was remarkably strong through all of this and continued to be a tremendous asset to the squad both on and off the pitch.

Alan Jones, the WWRU Chairman, was awarded for Services to Women's and Girls' Rugby. Alan has been Chairman for two years and in this time has been an invaluable help to all WWRU staff. He has put in many hours behind the scenes travelling all over Wales to help develop women's and girls' rugby and his commitment has been second to none.

Finally, Neath Athletic won the WWRU Club of the Year Award. This was in recognition of an outstanding Under 17 squad who were undefeated this season. Many players from this team went on to represent the Under 17s Regional West Wales squad which was won by the region. The Neath Athletic senior squad in their inaugural season got through to the Semi-Final of the WWRU Plate. Finally, six Neath Athletic players went on to represent their country in the Wales Under 19s squad playing two fixtures against USA and Canada. Much thanks to this should be attributed to Amanda Williams and Dewi Williams who help to coach and manage the teams.

For more information, please contact Jilly Holroyd, Women's Manager: [email protected] or 07710603835.
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us