Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Sailing - 21. July 2007.

Australia wins the Volvo Trophy for third time

Gold: Emily Dellenbaugh/Briani Provancha USA 27 points
Silver: Sophie Weguelin/Sophie Ainsworth GBR 36 points
Bronze: Hanna Nattrass/Michelle Muller AUS 38 points/photo onEdition


Glenn Bourke, CEO of the Volvo Ocean Race, was delighted with the result. Speaking from Australia he said:

“As an Australian myself, it hard not to be proud of the standard of athletes my home country has fielded in this year’s world championship and I am thrilled that Australia is now the holder of the Volvo Trophy.

“This championship is a gateway to the Olympic Games and also the Volvo Ocean Race and I congratulate all the competitors for their skill and determination and look forward to watching their progress in the years to come.”

Team Leader, Kristen Kosmala, said, “It was a full team effort and we all worked together as a strong unit. It’s pretty amazing and all the kids are really excited.”

Helping to secure the Volvo Trophy were:
Laser Radial Girls: Gabrielle King GOLD
29er Girls Hannah Nattrass/Michelle Muller BRONZE
Windsurfer Girls: Alisha Kawalla 4th

Awarded by Volvo to the best performing nation taking part in the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship, the Volvo Trophy was first offered by Volvo in 1999 and has been presented every year since, with the exception of Madeira 2003. Australia last won the event in 2003.

29er Girls: USA Gold, GBR Silver, AUS Bronze
In the girls 29er fleet it was the American duo of Emily Dellenbaugh (17) and Briani Provancha (18) who claimed the gold medal with a race to spare in a fleet of 18 boats.

“It hasn’t really sunk in yet,” exclaimed helm Emily Dellenbaugh, the daughter of top America’s Cup sailor David. Both Emily and crew Briana were thrown into the dock in traditional fashion once they realised they had won.

Sophie Weguelin and Sophie Ainsworth won the last race and took the silver medals, ahead of the pre-race favourites, Australia’s Hannah Nattrass and Michelle Muller who were only two points behind the British girls.

Laser Radial Girls: AUS Gold, USA Silver, DEN Bronze
Gabrielle King (16) from Australia went into the final race at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship knowing she could not be beaten and has won the gold medal with a 20-point margin over silver medalist Anne Haeger from the USA.

King, who started sailing at the age of 10 only began racing only four years ago. She was 5th at the 2006 Volvo Youth Sailing World Championship in Weymouth last year and is currently 89th in the ISAF women’s one person dinghy.

“I’m really excited,” said King. “It is really surreal. I came here hoping to medal and it is great to see that it happened. I now have to go home and study for a little while and then start training for selection for both youth worlds next year and the open Laser radial worlds. The team is great, a lot of fun, everyone gets on very well and they have all been very supportive.”

In a nail-biting final race, Denmark’s Sarah Gunni put in a stunning performance to finish third which was enough to take her ahead of Tuula Tenkanen (FIN) and to take the bronze medal by just two points.

Windsurfer Girls: ITA Gold, GER Silver, POL Bronze
Laura Linares from Italy has claimed her second gold medal in the 15-board fleet, adding to the gold medal she won in Weymouth last year and the bronze she collected two years ago in Korea.

Linares has never finished out of the top three in this year’s series and only three points separated the Italian from her nearest rival, Moana Delle (GER). Delle had to count an expensive 16 point penalty in race one, but from then on her regatta improved with a win in race seven and a clutch of second places to add to her score and culminating in the silver medal.

Bronze was claimed by Poland’s Nina Szymczyk who was consistently in the top six throughout the series.

2006 Italy
2005 France
2004 France
2003 Australia
2003 New Zealand
2001 France
2000 France
1999 France
1996 Great Britain
1995 New Zealand
1994 New Zealand
1993 Australia
1992 France
1991 France.

Next year’s event will be held in Arhus, Denmark from 10 – 19 July 2008.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us