Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Netball - 01. October 2007.

Australia names talent-rich World Championships line-up

The national selectors have chosen a blend of experience and dynamic youthful talent, giving national coach Norma Plummer a variety of options for the arduous six-match schedule in seven days.

Nine players will make their world championship debut, with only 34-year-old Ellis, Vice-captain Sharelle McMahon and shooter, Catherine Cox having contested a previous world championship.

Plummer is confident about her youthful team’s ability to handle the pressure in Auckland.

“Six of our players competed at the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games and the whole squad has experienced the pressure situations in the international arena over the past two years. They are capable of handling anything,” she said.

The Australian 2007 World Championships Team:

Liz Ellis (Captain) - 4th World Championships
Sharelle McMahon (Vice Captain) -
3rd World Championships
Bianca Chatfield
Catherine Cox -
2nd World Championships
Mo’onia Gerrard
Selina Gilsenan
Natalie Medhurst

Lauren Nourse
Susan Pratley
Julie Prendergast
Laura von Bertouch
Natalie von Bertouch

Coach: Norma Plummer

Assistant Coach: Sue Kenny Team Manager: Marg Molina

Team Doctor: Dr Michael Makdissi Physiotherapist: Sean Mungovan

Australian Game Schedule:

Australia, ranked 2nd in the world, is seeded top of Pool B and will play Samoa, Trinidad & Tobago and Scotland in the round-robin preliminary phase at the Trusts Stadium in Auckland.

11 Nov – 6.10pm AEST - Australia v Samoa

12 Nov – 4.10pm AEST - Australia v Trinidad & Tobago

13 Nov – 12.10pm AEST – Australia v Scotland

15 Nov – 2.10pm AEST – likely quarter final

16 Nov – 4.10pm AEST – likely semi-final

17 Nov – 6.10pm AEST – FINAL

New Zealand, the reigning champions, is seeded top of Pool A, Jamaica heads Pool C and England is the top-ranked nation in Pool D. The top 16 netball nations contest the World Championships. Australia last won the world title in 1999 in Christchurch, New Zealand defeating the Silver Ferns.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us