Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Triathlon - 06. February 2008.

2008 ITU Aquathlon World Championships confirmed for Mexico

Monterrey to host latest addition to 2008 season

Vancouver, Canada (February 6, 2008) - The International Triathlon Union today announced that Monterrey, Mexico will host the 2008 ITU Aquathlon World Championships on June 28. A $10,000 USD prize purse (equal for men and women) will be at stake for the elite athletes. Aquathlon is a MultiSport comprising of only run and swim portions.

The 2007 ITU Aquathlon World Championships were held in Ixtapa, Mexico and consisted of a 2.5-kilometer run, 1-kilometer swim, and finished with another 2.5-kilometer run. American Sarah Groff won the women's title with a time of 32 minutes and 52 seconds. Mexican Sergio Sarmiento delighted the home crowds by taking the men's crown with a time of 29 minutes and 54 seconds, making him the only competitor to break the 30-minute barrier last year. Former Aquathlon World Champions include Sheila Taormina (2004 Triathlon World Champion and Olympian) of the United States and Tim Don (2006 Triathlon World Champion and two-time Olympian) of Great Britain.

More information on the 2008 ITU Aquathlon World Championships including course details and start lists will be available soon.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Gohar Claims Women’s World No.1 Spot Following El Welily Retirement
Please follow us