Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Football - 27. May 2008.

Winners revealed

Friday afternoon saw the cream of the women and girls' game converge on London, as The FA Women's Awards for the 2007-08 season took place.

After what has been a busy 12 months with the World Cup and then the domestic season, there were a variety of awards handed out in recognition of achievements at both international and domestic level.

Taking place at Vinopolis, close to London's South Bank, the likes of England Head Coach Hope Powell and skipper Faye White were in attendance to see the various awards presented.

The Nationwide International Player Of The Year accolade went to Chelsea defender Casey Stoney, who saw off opposition from other nominees in Alex Scott and Anita Asante to be presented with the honour by Paul Morris of Nationwide.

The FA's Director Of Football Development Sir Trevor Brooking was on hand to present the Tesco Players' Player Of The Year award, which went to Everton's Jill Scott (pictured above) with Karen Carney and Alex Scott also nominated there.

Fern Whelan of Everton was named as The FA Young Player Of The Year and Sports Minister Gerry Sutcliffe MP was there to present that honour.

Fulham boss Mark Saunderson received the Tesco Manager Of The Year accolade following their success in winning FA Women's Premier League Southern Division.

The full list of awards is as follows:-

Umbro Top Goal Scorer – National Division
Presented by Duncan Thomson - UMBRO.
Nominees: Helen Lander (Watford), Katie Anderton (Blackburn), Lianne Sanderson (Arsenal).
Winner: Lianne Sanderson.

Umbro Top Goal Scorer – Southern Division
Presented by Duncan Thomson - UMBRO.
Nominees: Ann-Marie Heatherson (Fulham), Stacey Sowden (Barnet), Beth Curtis (Crystal Palace), Sheila Rocha (Keynsham Town).
Winner: Ann-Marie Heatherson.

Umbro Top Goal Scorer – Northern Division
Presented by Duncan Thomson - UMBRO.
Nominees: Melanie Raey (Newcastle), Jodie Snelson (Lincoln City), Natalie Clarke (Nottingham Forest).
Winner: Melanie Raey.

The FA Young Player of the Year
Presented by Gerry Sutcliffe MP.
Nominees: Jess Clarke, Fern Whelan, Sophie Bradley.
Winner: Fern Whelan.

The FA Club Media Award
Presented by Lance Hardy - BBC Sport.
Nominees: Birmingham City LFC, Newcastle United LFC, Lincoln City LFC.
Winner: Birmingham City LFC.

The FA Club Marketing Award
Presented by James Condon - Tesco.
Nominees: Leeds United LFC, Lincoln City LFC, Liverpool LFC.
Winner: Leeds United LFC.

Tesco Manager of the Year
Presented by Sue Hough - FA Women's Committee.
Nominees: Mo Marley (Everton), Lisa Dawkins (Nottingham Forest), Mark Saunderson (Fulham).
Winner: Mark Saunderson.

Tesco Club of the Year
Presented by Ray Berridge - FA Women's Committee.
Nominees: Arsenal LFC, Fulham LFC, Nottingham Forest LFC.
Winners: Nottingham Forest LFC.

Best Programme Award
Presented by Jonathan Hill - FA Commercial Director.
Nominees: Barnet LFC, Birmingham City LFC, Nottingham Forest LFC.
Winner: Barnet LFC.

The FA Fair Play Award
Presented by Hope Powell - England Head Coach
Nominees: Crewe Alexandra, Reading Royals, Charlton Athletic Women FC, Colchester United Ladies FC.
Winners: Crewe Alexandra LFC.

The FA National Media Award
Presented by Simon Johnson - FA Director Corporate Affairs.
Nominees: Fairgame, BBC, The Guardian.
Winner: Fairgame.

The FA Regional Media Award
Presented by Jacqui Oatley - BBC Radio Five Live.
Nominees: Nottingham Evening Post, Paul Garrity – Liverpool, Lincolnshire Echo.
Winner: Lincolnshire Echo.

Nationwide International Player of the Year
Presented by Paul Morris - Nationwide.
Nominees: Casey Stoney, Anita Asante, Alex Scott.
Winner: Casey Stoney.

Tesco Players' Player of the Year

Presented by Trevor Brooking - FA Director Football Development.
Nominees: Karen Carney, Jill Scott, Alex Scott.
Winners: Jill Scott.

Special Award for contribution to Women’s Football
Presented by Faye White, England Captain, to Lance Hardy of BBC Sport.

The FA Special Achievement Award

Presented by Ray Kiddell of The FA Women's Committee to Sheila Edmunds.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Power display in Tongyeong as Dodet  claims World Cup title

Five-star Liu Shiwen wins record fifth ITTF Women’s World Cup!
Please follow us