Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Paralympic sports - 15. October 2007.

Winners of Paralympic Awards 2007 Announced


Bonn, Germany -The Paralympic Sport Awards 2007 were awarded in five categories, based on performance at the Torino 2006 Paralympic Winter Games:

Best Male Athlete: Brian McKeever (CAN, Cross Country Skiing)
Best Female Athlete: Lauren Woolstencroft (CAN, Alpine Skiing)
Best Team Performance: Canadian Ice Sledge Hockey Team
Best Games Debut: Thomas Pfyl (SUI, Alpine Skiing)
Exemplary Games Official: Dr. Karl Quade (GER)

The Paralympic Media Awards 2007 honour members of the media who presented the highest quality and most dynamic coverage of the Torino 2006 Paralympic Winter Games, in three categories:

Broadcast: Australian Broadcasting Corporation (AUS)
Written (Online): BBC Sport Website (GBR)
Photo: Mikael Helsing (ESP)

The Paralympic Scientific Award 2007 recognized one outstanding contributor (academic or scientific) for research in the field of sport for persons with a disability.

Paralympic Scientific Award 2007: Garry Wheeler (GBR)

The winners were selected by three Awards Committees, composed of members of the Paralympic Movement and experts in the relevant areas. All award recipients will be presented with their trophy designed and produced by Italian company, GDE Bertoni, at the IPC Awards Gala, held as part of 2007 IPC General Assembly in Seoul, Korea, on 24 November.

For more information about the Paralympic Awards and the award winners, please visit the IPC website at www.paralympic.org.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Young Welsh Sports Star to Champion Climate Action
Inaugural World Athletics Tour to kick off this weekend
Please follow us