Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Rugby - 20. February 2014.

Wales Women make changes for France

Wales Women have made three changes to their pack, one positional, for the clash against France in a Six Nations encounter at the Talbot Athletic Ground on Sunday (KO 2pm).

Jenny Davies, the most experienced player in the squad with 62 caps, replaces Megan York at loosehead prop while Sioned Harries returns to the back row with Nia Davies switching to the second row with lock Jenny Hawkins dropping down to the replacements bench.

"Jenny has made a real impact from the bench when coming on so she deserves a chance to start against France,” explained Wales Women's head coach Rhys Edwards.

"Nia is our most effective forward at the moment so we've put her back in the second row so Sioned can come back into the back row. It's all about getting the balance right in the back five of the pack at the moment. This is the third time we've made changes in that area so hopefully we've got the balance right."

"The backs go out against France knowing they have to finish off moves which is something we haven't done so far in the campaign,” he added.

Wales have suffered narrow losses to Italy and Ireland in the opening two games and Edwards is fully aware of the size of the task which awaits them on Sunday.

"France are quite a formidable outfit at the moment. They have to be one of the best sides in the world. They recently beat England comfortably. We will have to be on top of our own game, stopping them at source so they don't have a platform to work from if we are to have any chance of claiming our first win of the campaign,” he added.

Wales Women v France, Talbot Athletic Ground, Sun 23rd Feb, KO 2pm

15 Dyddgu Hywel (Bristol Ladies)
14 Elen Evans (Waterloo)
13 Robyn Wilkins (Llandaff North)
12 Rebecca de Filippo (Bristol Ladies)
11 Philippa Tuttiett (Bristol Ladies)
10 Elinor Snowsill (Bristol Ladies)
9 Amy Day (Llandaff North)

1 Jenny Davies (Waterloo)
2 Lowri Harries (Neath Athletic)
3 Catrin Edwards (Bristol Ladies)
4 Nia Davies (Cardiff Met)
5 Shona Powell Hughes (Neath Athletic)
6 Catrina Nicholas (Llandaff North)
7 Sioned Harries (Llandaff North)
8 Rachel Taylor (Captain) (Bristol Ladies)


16 Carys Phillips (Bristol Ladies)
17 Megan York (Blaenau Gwent)
18 Caryl Thomas (Bath Ladies)
19 Jenny Hawkins (Llandaff North)
20 Sian Williams (Worcester)
21 Sian Moore (Bristol Ladies)
22 Laurie Harries (Llandaff North)
23 Elli Norkett (Neath Athletic)
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us