Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Windsurfing - 07. March 2011.

Vietnam PWA Grand Slam 201-Sarah-Quita Offringa crowned winner

PWA Grand Slam 201-Sarah-Quita Offringa crowned winner

The final day in Vietnam turns up the heat to showcase some of the most nail biting action the World Tour has witnessed in recent years.

Following the frustration of the two previous windless days, all hopes boiled down to the competition’s final day to deliver suitable conditions for the racers to take to the water. With a mediocre forecast and talk of pressure systems interfering with the local thermal effect, the outlook looked bleak.

The women’s losers final which was won by Lena Erdil (Patrik / Loft / Mystic), to finish race one.

In the women’s second race, Karin Jaggi (Severne / Patrik) rose to the challenge to take a convincing elimination victory ahead of Sarah-Quita Offringa (Starboard / Gaastra / Mystic), who was beginning to seriously threaten taking the top spot, and a consistent Alice Arutkin (Starboard / North) in third.

The women’s third elimination saw Offringa continue her run of form right through to the winners final, where she pieced together a stunning heat to award her victory ahead of Turkey’s Lena Erdil (Patrik / Loft), who was looking like she’d found her form after posting a disappointing ninth and eighth in the previous eliminations, leaving World Champion Jaggi in third.

The women’s final elimination saw Offringa cement her reputation as a serious slalom World Title contender when she scooped another race victory, ahead of Jaggi in second, and Morane Demont (Starboard / Severne) in third, handing her the event victory by a comprehensive points margin. The women’s losers final marked the final heat of the event, which was won by France’s Delphine Cousin (JP / NeilPryde).

The 2011 Vietnam PWA Grand Slam Final Standings: Women’s Slalom

1st    Sarah-Quita Offringa     (Starboard / Gaastra / Mystic)

2nd    Karin Jaggi                   (Patrik / Severne)

3rd    Alice Arutkin                 (Starboard / North)

4th     Morane Demont           (Starboard / Severne)

5th    Lena Erdil                     (Patrik / Loft / Mystic)

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us