Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Volleyball - 09. August 2013.

USA & Brazil look to notch up more victories this weekend

As the USA continues their quest to become the first team to win four successive World Grand Prix titles, Brazil looks to keep up their winning streak from last weekend as teams head into the second weekend of the 2013 edition of volleyball’s premier women’s event.

After beating Russia and Poland, Brazil proved too strong for the United States in the first weekend of the 2013 World Grand Prix, breaking the USA's longest ever winning streak in the competition (18 matches).

In today’s Pool F match, the USA with meet Algeria, a country it has never met before at the World Grand Prix level. The United States, the obvious favourites, are looking to avoid their first back-to-back loss in the World Grand Prix since the first weekend of the 2010 edition. Algeria, in search of their first ever World Grand Prix win (or their first set win for that cause), face the best team in the past three seasons.

Having won all the three matches they played in Pool A last weekend, Brazil are currently one of the five undefeated teams in the World Grand Prix along with Serbia, China, Japan and Italy.

Brazil meets the Dominican Republic in Puerto Rico today for the first of its Pool G matches this weekend. This is the sixth meeting between these teams, all of which have come since 2006. In five previous meetings, including three in the World Grand Prix, Brazil have not dropped a set against Puerto Rico.

The 2010, 2011 and 2012 champions, the USA are joined by Brazil in holding the record for the most number of consecutive World Grand Prix triumphs. Brazil, holds the record for the most number of titles - eight - which it earned from 2004 to 2006.

The United States will be looking for a record fourth straight title while Brazil will be hoping to end their streak of silver medals in the last three years and finally make it to the top. Eight of the last nine titles have been won by Brazil or the United States.

The Preliminary Round action continues over the first three weekends of August and climaxes with the Finals in the northern Japanese city of Sapporo. The Finals will run from August 28 to September 1.

This year, the world’s premier annual women’s volleyball tournament – now in its 21st year – will feature 20 teams, an increase of four from last year. China and Japan are the only teams who have competed in every tournament.
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
14. March 168
Women sport news - Katie Walsh wins on 25/1 shot Relegate in Champion Bumper
13. March 104
Women sport news - First Day of Cheltenham

First Day of Cheltenham

Results 14.10

Racing Post Arkle Challenge Trophy Novices' Chase (Grade 1) (Class 1)

T: W P MullinsJ: R Walsh

Brain Power
T: N J HendersonJ: Nico de Boinville 
My Stable

Petit Mouchoir
T: H de BromheadJ: D N Russell

Results 13.30pm

Sky Bet Supreme Novices' Hurdle (Grade 1) (Class 1)

Summerville Boy
T: T R GeorgeJ: N D Fehily

T: Miss Amy MurphyJ: Jack Quinlan

Mengli Khan
T: G ElliottJ: J W Kennedy

10. March 178
Women sport news - PyeongChang 2018: Henrieta Farkasova first Paralympic champion

PyeongChang 2018: Henrieta Farkasova first Paralympic champion

Slovakian alpine skier narrowly beats Millie Knight to capture gold photo Getty Images

Have you read it?
Bridget Andrews wins the County Hurdle in Cheltenham
Elisa Longo Borghini: “If I’m In The Game I Just Like To Play!”
Please follow us