Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Rugby - 15. March 2014.

Three players given first Scotland start

Among the five players promoted from the bench following last week's match against France, three will be making their first start for Scotland Women as they take on Wales this Sunday (16 March) at Talbot Athletic Ground.

Scotland Women head coach, Jules Maxton, said: "We hope these girls can bring a different kind of intensity from the offset."

"These players have made a strong enough impact off the bench in recent games, and thoroughly deserve a chance to show what they can do in the starting team."

"We're really targeting this game as a chance to put some points on the board, and on our table tally, to end our Six Nations with a solid performance and a win.”

In the back division, Megan Gaffney returns to the left wing ahead of Katy Green, as Lisa Martin takes her spot in the ten jersey in place of Tanya Griffith, who will not feature in this week's squad.

Gillian Inglis and Laura Steven switch positions for the trip to Wales, the former moving to inside centre, the latter to the outside.

Making their first starts for Scotland, prop Karen Dunbar and hooker Lana Skeldon will take the place of Heather Lockhart and Lindsey Smith respectively.

The only other change in the pack is in the back-row as Rachael Cook, also making her first appearance in the starting XV, replaces her Murrayfield Wanderers team-mate Ruth Slaven.

Utility back, Lyndsey O'Donnell, makes her first appearance in the squad this campaign as she claims a spot on the bench.
Scotland Women team to play Wales on Sunday 16 March (2pm) at Talbot Athletic Ground:
15. Stephanie Johnston (Worcester)
14. Annabel Sergeant (Richmond)
13. Laura Steven (Murrayfield Wanderers)
12. Gillian Inglis (Melrose)
11. Megan Gaffney (Hillhead/Jordanhill)
10. Lisa Martin (Murrayfield Wanderers)
9. Sarah Law (Murrayfield Wanderers)
1. Karen Dunbar (Watsonians)
2. Lana Skeldon (Melrose)
3. Tracy Balmer (Worcester) CAPTAIN
4. Deborah McCormack (Richmond)
5. Emma Wassell (Murrayfield Wanderers)
6. Rachael Cook (Murrayfield Wanderers)
7. Tess Forsberg (Richmond)
8. Jade Konkel (Hillhead/Jordanhill)
16. Lindsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)
17. Heather Lockhart (Hillhead/Jordanhill)
18. Lisa Robertson (Murrayfield Wanderers)
19. Ruth Slaven (Murrayfield Wanderers)
20. Lyndsay O'Donnell (Worcester)
21. Louise Dalgliesh (RHC Cougars)
22. Katy Green (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
23. Sarah Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us