Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Swimming - 11. February 2009.

Swimming Quintet await results of Sunday Times Sportswomen Awards

Swimming’s golden girl Rebecca Adlington has just a few days to wait to see if she is crowned The Sunday Times Olympian of the Year – with Heather Frederiksen and Eleanor Simmonds both in the running for Paralympian of the Year.

Swimming will also be represented at the Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards on Thursday (February 12th) by the asa’s administrator Wendy Coles, who will contend the Unsung Hero Award, and Deben Swimming Club’s Laura Cotton who is nominated for Community Club Volunteer Award.

Adlington will do battle in her category with 400m runner Christine Ohuruogu and cyclist Rebecca Romero after the nominations were submitted online (www.timesonline.co.uk/sportswomen) by Sunday Times readers over the course of four weeks. Although she, Frederiksen and Simmonds miss out on a showing in the headline award – Sportswoman of the Year.

Ten awards will be presented at the paper’s ceremony at Lord’s Cricket Ground on Thursday February 12, 2009.

The winners will be announced on the day and will be chosen by a prestigious judging panel chaired by BBC 5 Live sports broadcaster Eleanor Oldroyd, and includes amongst others Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson, sports broadcaster Jill Douglas, and the Head of Policy at UK Sport Amanda Bennett.

The full list of nominees is:

Sportswoman of the Year
Nicole Cooke (Road cycling)
Victoria Pendleton (Track cycling)
Hayley Turner (Horseracing)
Team of the Year
England women’s cricket team
England women’s rugby union team
Yngling sailing crew (Sarah Ayton, Sarah Webb and Pippa Wilson)
Olympian of the Year
Rebecca Adlington (Swimming)
Christine Ohuruogu (Athletics)
Rebecca Romero (Track cycling)
Paralympian of the Year
Sophie Christiansen (Equestrianism)
Heather Frederiksen (Swimming)
Eleanor Simmonds (Swimming)
Unsung Hero Award
Wendy Coles (Administrator at the Amateur Swimming Association)
Amanda Kirby (Gymnastics coach)
Sheila Plant (President of the Southern Counties Hockey Association)
PE Teacher of the Year
Esther Amery (Toynbee School, Eastleigh, Hampshire)
Cheryl Buckley (Baxter College, Kidderminster, Worcestershire)
Karen Griffiths (St. Bernard’s Catholic High School, Barrow in Furness, Cumbria)
Young Sportswoman of the Year
Rachel Atherton (Downhill mountain bike racing)
Holly Colvin (Cricket)
Kirsty McWilliam (Triathlon)
Laura Robson (Tennis)
Zoe Smith (Weightlifting)

Community Club Volunteer Award
Laura Cotton (Teacher and lifeguard at Deben swimming club)
Janet Kidd (Football coach of Oxford City Casuals)
Kay Stokes (Coach at Cleveland Triathlon Club)

Other awards to be presented during the day are The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration and Sponsorship of the Year.

Amanda Bennett, UK Sport’s Head of Policy, who is a member of the judging panel said: "UK Sport is once again delighted to sponsor the Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards. The Beijing Olympics and Paralympics proved just how much female athletes contribute to British sporting success and this event provides the perfect opportunity to celebrate their achievements. In addition, it is also important to recognise those who volunteer, teach and inspire others in sport through their passion and dedication. It is fantastic to have such a strong line-up of nominations and indeed this is one of the best years yet for this particular awards ceremony. The judging panel have some extremely diffiuclt decisions to make."

The event is in association with David Lloyd Leisure and is also being sponsored by Sport England, UK Sport, and CCPR.  The Women’s Sport and Fitness Foundation is also lending its support and is the event’s charity partner.


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Silver Ferns name team to play Malawi Queens
Pressure on Hockeyroos to win Comm gold
Please follow us