Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
- 01. April 2009.

Sharleen Stratton (AUS) rains on China’s parade

As expected, China dominated the second leg of the 2009 FINA Diving World Series, held in Changzhou (CHN) on March 27-28, by conquering seven out of the eight titles on offer. The only non-local victory went to Australia’s Sharleen Stratton in the women’s 3m springboard, who took the best possible advantage of the non-qualification of favourite Minxia Wu (CHN) for the final and the shaky performance of the second Chinese diver in the event, Zi He.

In Changzhou, the remaining seven finals were clearly won by the local champions, who managed the 1-2 in the men’s 3m springboard and 10m platform and in the women’s 10m platform. Like in the first meet of these series in Doha (March 21-22), the Chinese divers also triumphed comfortably in the synchronised events.  

Besides China and Australia, the other countries with medals in Changzhou were Russia (veteran Dmitry Sautin – eight Olympic medals – seems to be once more at the top), Great Britain (with young sensation Tom Daley), Germany (brilliant in the synchro events), Mexico (Paola Espinosa and Laura Sanchez shone in the women’s events) and USA.

The final two legs of the 2009 FINA Diving World Series will be held in Sheffield (GBR, April 18-19) and in Mexico City (MEX, April 24-25).


Women's 3m springboard: 1. Sharleen Stratton (AUS) 373.05; 2. Zi He (CHN) 367.05; 3. Laura Sanchez (MEX) 347.25
Women’s 10m platform: 1. Ruolin Chen (CHN) 444.05; 2. Kang Li (CHN) 421.70; 3. Paola Espinosa (MEX) 404.20
Women’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Wang Han/He Zi (CHN) 331.20; 2. Briony Cole/Sharleen Stratton (AUS) 314.82; 3. Nora Subschinski/Katja Dieckow (GER) 313.20
Women's 10m platform synchro: 1. Ruolin Chen/Li Kang (CHN) 372.00; 2. Briony Cole/Melissa Wu (AUS) 347.34; 3. Josephine Moeller/Nora Subschinski (GER) 323.58
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Beaugrand powers to first WTS gold thanks to inspired run in Hamburg

photos Janos Schmidt

Please follow us