Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Rugby - 23. January 2017.

Scotland Women Squad named for Six Nations

Scotland will begin their campaign at home to Ireland Women at Cumbernauld on February 3 as part of a double header with the Under-20s, and prior to that will have a training camp down in London to prepare for the tournament.

For Munro, that preparation time will give Scotland the best possible chance of building on two narrow losses to Spain in a World Cup qualifying tie back in November.

Shade Munro

"The Women's Six Nations is a great platform to develop the squad and benchmark progress as we work towards closing the gap with world-class nations," said Munro, who will be boosted by the return from injury of Jade Konkel, the No.8 and Scotland's first full-time player.

"We've added more training camps and competitive games this season to better prepare both the new and experienced players for the task ahead.

"The structures Scottish Rugby has put in place to support players and release their full potential are also making a difference and we took huge positives from our two matches against Spain in autumn.

"We competed for the whole 80 minutes in both games and developed our defence and attack. The players took confidence from that because they can see the improvement.

"In this tournament, our focus is really on us. There's no doubt we have progressed in a number of areas, but there is a lot more we can do to improve."

Scotland Women squad for the 2017 Women's Six Nations

Tracy Balmer (Worcester)
Sarah Bonar (Lichfield)
Rachel Cook (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Katie Dougan (Edinburgh University)
Karen Dunbar (RHC Cougars)
Jemma Forsyth (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Jade Konkel (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Heather Lockhart (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Rachel Malcolm (Lichfield)
Deborah McCormack (Aylesford Bulls)
Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Siobhan McMillan (Cartha Queens Park)
Lyndsay O'Donnell (Worcester)
Lucy Park (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lisa Robertson (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lana Skeldon (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Lindsey Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Anna Stodter (Saracens)
Emma Wassell (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Caroline Collie (Bletchley Ladies)
Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University)
Lauren Harris (Melrose)
Gillian Inglis (RHC Cougars)
Sarah Law (Murrayfield Wanderers/Edinburgh University)
Rhona Lloyd (Edinburgh University)
Lisa Martin (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield)
Helen Nelson (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Chloe Rollie (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Eilidh Sinclair (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lisa Thomson (Edinburgh University)

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us