Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cricket - 11. April 2009.

Preliminary Australia squads for ICC World Twenty20 announced

Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) have today announced the preliminary  Australia squad to contest the ICC World Twenty20 2009 in England.

The event, which features eight teams in the women's competition, will be staged in June 2009 at Lord's, The Oval, Trent Bridge and Taunton. The women’s and men’s semi finals and final will be played as double-header matches at Trent Bridge, The Oval and Lord’s.

The preliminary Australia squad is

Sarah Aley                    NSW

Sarah Andrews              NSW

Kristen Beams               VIC

Alex Blackwell               NSW

Kate Blackwell               NSW

Melissa Bulow               QLD

Jessica Cameron           VIC

Jude Coleman                QLD

Sarah Coyte                  NSW

Lauren Ebsary               WA

Sarah Edwards              VIC

Rene Farrell                   WA

Jodie Fields                   QLD

Corinne Hall                   NSW

Rachael Haynes            VIC

Alyssa Healy                 NSW

Emma Inglis                  VIC

Jessica Jonassen          QLD

Delissa Kimmince          QLD

Shelley Nitschke            SA

Erin Osborne                 NSW

Ellyse Perry                  NSW

Kirsten Pike                  QLD

Leah Poulton                 NSW

Karen Rolton                 SA

Lisa Sthalekar               NSW

Selena Tainton               QLD

Jo-Ann Verrall                QLD

Elyse Villani                  VIC

Julie Woerner                SA




Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said the ICC World Twenty20 would offer Australia's elite female cricket stars a chance to shine.


But the tournament will also be another building block in cricket's global popularity.


"One of Twenty20's strengths is that it appeals to new audiences, particularly women and girls, and it is exciting today to be making an announcement about our best female players," he said.


On Andrew Symonds, Mr Sutherland said the selectors had been advised Symonds, who has been working through a counselling process, had reached a point where it was appropriate to consider him for international selection, subject only to fitness and form.


"Cricket Australia and Andrew have been speaking, as have members of the team leadership group, and we are satisfied he is committed to doing the things needed of an Australian international cricketer.”


Commenting on the preliminary men’s squad, NSP Chairman, Andrew Hilditch, said:


Commenting on the preliminary women’s squad, WNSP Chairperson, Marg Jennings, said:


“The WNSP is extremely pleased with this preliminary squad for the World Twenty20.


“The squad has depth in all areas and will ensure that selection in the final squad of 14 will be highly competitive. The squad contains a number of young players who will press for selection following the retirements of Emma Sampson and Leonie Coleman after the World Cup.


“While our World Cup result was disappointing, we feel we have the players to rebound quickly and perform strongly at the World Twenty20.


“The tournament will be an exciting moment for women’s cricket and the WNSP we’ll be looking very closely at those players we think can be successful in the shorter form of the game.


“This presents a chance for players who have not represented Australia to step up to international cricket.”


The final squad of  14 (women) for the World Twenty20 will be named by 5 May.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Beaugrand powers to first WTS gold thanks to inspired run in Hamburg

photos Janos Schmidt

Please follow us