Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Paralympic sports - 28. September 2008.

Paralympic Order Recipients 2008 Honoured

Bonn, Germany - The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) honoured the recipients of the 2008 Paralympic Order last week as the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games came to a close. This year, the Paralympic Order was given to several people for their commitment to the success of the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games in the Chinese capital on 18 September.

The Paralympic Order honours the people who not only have made the commitment, but have illustrated the Paralympic ideal through their actions, and have therefore achieved remarkable merit. The success of the Games in Beijing has demonstrated their outstanding service to the Paralympic cause.

2008 Paralympic Order Recipients are as follows:

Mr. Liu Qi -  President of the Beijing 2008 Organizing Committee (BOCOG), Member of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee, Secretary of the CPC Beijing Committee,

Mr. Hui Liangyu - Vice Premier of the State Council, Member of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee

Ms. Liu Yandong - Vice President of BOCOG, Member of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee, State Councilor

Ms. Chen Zhili - Vice President of BOCOG, Vice Chairperson of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress

Mr. Deng Pufang - President of the China Disabled Persons' Federation (CDPF), Executive President of BOCOG, Vice Chairperson of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC)

Mr. Liu Peng - Executive President of BOCOG, Minister of the General Administration of Sport of China, President of the Chinese Olympic Committee

Mr. Guo Jinlong - Mayor of Beijing, Executive President of BOCOG

Additionally, the IPC presented special Paralympic Orders to the following three recipients:

Ms. Tang Xiaoquan - President of the Executive Board and Vice President of the China Disabled Persons' Federation, Executive Vice President of BOCOG

Ms. Zhao Wenzhi - Deputy of Paralympic Games Command Center, Vice Chairperson of CPPCC Beijing Committee

Mr. Manolo Romero - Managing Director of Olympic Broadcasting Services (OBS)
The IPC also awarded others with Recognition Plaques. Those recipients included: Mr. Liu Jing, Mr. Li Dongsheng, Mr. He Yafei, Mr. Xiang Zhaolun, Mr. Liu Jingmin, Mr. Wang Wei, Mr. Jiang Xiaoyu, Mr. Li Binghua and Mr. Yang Shu'an.

The President of the IPC, Sir Philip Craven, presented the 2008 Paralympic Orders to the above individuals. He expressed how the leaders of China should be proud of the real impact that they have had on the Paralympic Games, and therefore the Paralympic Movement. "Thank you for your service and your commitment to the success of the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games," Sir Philip said. "The Paralympic Family looks forward to seeing the future of what has been put into motion not only here, in the capital of China, but throughout the entire country."

For information about past recipients, please visit the Paralympic Order section of IPC's official website.
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Please follow us