Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Swimming - 22. November 2007.


20th November 2007

Kirsty Balfour (City of Edinburgh), David Davies (City of Cardiff) and Liam Tancock (Loughborough University) will form the nucleus of British Swimming's 27-strong squad bound for the European Championships in March after gaining pre-selection.

Medals at the World Championships in Melbourne this year saw the three Olympic hopefuls pre-selected and with it an opportunity to race early in the season against many of those they'll expect to face in Beijing.

The team will be lead by British Swimming Head Coach Ian Turner who will also use the European Championships to continue the development of Britain's relay teams.

"Not only are we asking the pre-selected Olympic swimmers to take part in the European Championships we're also utilising the opportunity to race our relay teams as part of their progression towards Beijing and beyond," said Turner.

"The event is just days out from our own Olympic Trials, and that is the main concern for Britain's swimmers looking to make the Beijing team, but the team we've selected for Eindhoven will have the opportunity to race, analyse their performance and make sure they're at their best in Sheffield."

The LEN European Swimming Championships take place in Eindhoven, Holland from 18 to 24 March 2008. The British Female squad comprises:

Hannah Askew (Maxwell)
Kirsty Balfour (City of Edinburgh)
Lauren Collins (City of Birmingham)
Ellen Gandy (Beckenham)
Fransesca Halsall (City of Liverpool)
Kate Haywood (Loughborough University)
Joanne Jackson (Loughborough University)
Jemma Lowe (Stockton SC)
Melanie Marshall (Loughborough University)
Caitlin McClatchey (Loughborough University)
Elizabeth Simmonds (Lincoln Vulcans)
Jenna Turner (Ealing )
Rebecca Turner (City of Sheffield)
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
The Silver Ferns step up to defeat The Roses in Nottingham

Vitality Nations Cup 

Conti Cup Final to be held at Forest

Nottingham Forest's City Ground to host FA Women's Continental Tyres League Cup Final

Please follow us