..."> ..." />
Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Netball - 05. August 2015.

Netball World Cup Candle Lighting Ceremony


Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015 (NWC2015) teams gathered at Luna Park this evening, to mark the beginning of the sport’s pinnacle event, which begins on Friday 7 August at Sydney Olympic Park.

In a World Cup tradition dating back to the first official World Cup held in Eastbourne, England, in 1963, NWC2015 players gather to light candles in a symbol of friendship and goodwill, committing to honour the spirit of the game.

The much-respected Candle Lighting Ceremony is a sacred tradition of the Netball World Cup. It gives players and officials the opportunity to honour the history, the present and the future of the sport before they take to the court to compete for the ultimate prize – the World Cup.

The ceremony has become a symbol for international netball, celebrating the worldwide impact of the sport.

NWC2015 Chief Executive, Marne Fechner, said the Local Organising Committee was excited to be hosting the Netball World Cup in Australia for the first time in 24 years.

“We are thrilled to host the International Netball Federation’s (INF) pinnacle event.

“I have no doubt that the competition is going to be the best it’s ever been and I wish you all the best in the days to come,” she told the 16 nations in attendance.

Meanwhile INF President, Molly Rhone, told the congregation that NWC2015 would be just another example of how netball can change women’s lives.

“I’m excited for all the players who are embarking on what is going to be a magical experience over the next 10 days.

“Netball is growing; winning friends and changing lives.  There is no better way to celebrate that success story than this 10 days of brilliant competition.”

The 14th edition of the Netball World Cup will begin on Friday 7 August at Sydney Olympic Park, concluding on Sunday 16 August.

Netball World Cup matches confirmed on Sky Sports so far are as follows:                                                                     

7th August                                                                            MATCH START TIME

England                v              Scotland                                5.50am

New Zealand       v              Barbados                              7.50am


Australia              v              Trinidad & Tobago               12:05pm

8th August

Barbados             v              Australia                                 6.20am

England                v              Jamaica                                  8.20am

Sri Lanka              v              Malawi                                   10.20am

9th August

Australia              v              New Zealand                         5.20am

England                v              Samoa                                   7.20am

Sri Lanka              v              Malawi                                   9.20am

10th August

Zambia                 v              Fiji                                          6.20am

Uganda                 v              Wales                                    8.20am

Scotland               v              Jamaica                                 9.20am

11th, 12th, 13th & 14th August

Qualification matches T.B.C. Follow @SkyNetball for details.

15th August

Semi-finals LIVE

16th August

Bronze medal match & Final LIVE

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us