Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Netball - 17. September 2008.

Liz Ellis Diamond to be awarded to netball’s finest


Australia’s most outstanding netballer in 2008 will be honoured as the inaugural recipient of the Liz Ellis Diamond in another landmark announcement for the sport.


Liz Ellis Diamond to be awarded to netballs finest

Named after former Australian captain and the most capped player of all-time, Liz Ellis, the sport’s premier individual award will be won by the player who receives the most votes for outstanding achievement in both the international arena and ANZ Championship each year.


This year’s Liz Ellis Diamond recipient will be revealed at the 2008 Netball Awards Dinner at the Langham Hotel in Melbourne on November 29 in a night of celebration for the sport.


Ellis retired after the successful 2007 World Championship campaign ending a stellar 18-year international career which featured three world titles, two Commonwealth Games gold medals, four national league MVP awards and four national league titles with the Sydney TAB Swifts.


Known for her fearlessness and tenacity, Ellis is a revered champion with a legion of fans around Australia and has been an inspiration to netballers at every level.


Ellis said she was immensely proud and honoured to be recognised with the introduction of the Liz Ellis Diamond.


“It’s a great honour to be singled out when you consider all the wonderful champion players that have taken the court for Australia over the past 80 years,” she said.


“I feel truly humbled with this announcement and look forward to awarding the sport’s top individual award to one of the great athletes in the Australian Netball Diamonds.”


The Liz Ellis Diamond will create a tradition of excellence as the premier individual award for Australian netball. 


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Lisa Brennauer Flies To Third Place In Emakumeen Bira Time Trial
El Sherbini Claims 2018 British Open Title
Please follow us