Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Golf - 06. September 2007.



The Ladies’ Home International matches, one of the oldest of international team contests, breaks new ground when the four home countries meet at Dunbar Golf Club from 12-14 September.

The inaugural matches were played to great enthusiasm in 1895 at Royal Portrush following the completion of the Ladies’ British Open Amateur Championship, only two years after the formation of the Ladies’ Golf Union. Since then, England have been the dominant force while Wales have only one winning series to their name, in 1999 at Royal Dornoch.

The English side is lead by Melissa Reid, without doubt the number one player in the British Isles. In addition to her recent win in the British Stroke Play Championship, she earlier in the year triumphed in the Helen Holm, the St Rule Trophy and won the amateur salver in the Ricoh Women’s British Open. Also in their eight-strong team are Naomi Edwards, the English champion, Rachael Jennings, last year’s English Girls’ champion and Kent-based Claire Aitken, the English Mid-Amateur champion.

England have selected all five Vagliano Trophy players, while from that same team, Wales include Sara Hassan and Breanne Loucks and Ireland, Tara Delaney.

Vagliano Trophy reserves Jemma Wilson and Michele Thomson are in the Scottish team alongside their girls’ champion Carly Booth and the losing finalist Megan Briggs.

These latter two players, along with Kelsey MacDonald and Pamela Pretswell were members of the Scottish team that won the recent Girls’ Home International series.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Langman named All-Stars captain for bushfire relief match
Japanese teenager Mima Ito wins big in Budapest

2020 ITTF World Tour Hungarian Open

Please follow us