Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Other Sports - 06. March 2009.

Kathi Myers elected WPRA President

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Women’s Professional Rodeo Association (WPRA) announced on March 2 the results of their recent elections and Kathi Myers of Pedricktown, N.J., will take over the duties of President on March 15 after receiving 335 votes to Patti Roberts’ 234 votes. This will be the first time in the 61-year history of the WPRA that someone from the First Frontier Circuit will lead the oldest women’s sports organization in the country.

            “I am looking forward to my new role as President of the WPRA and want to thank those who have supported me along this journey,” said Myers, who has served at the WPRA Administrative Director since 2008. “I feel that the opportunity for the WPRA to grow and mature has never been greater. I want to stabilize the relationships between our office, our members and the PRCA, while continuing to grow our programs and overall brand.”

            Myers was born into a rodeo family, the Lightning 4 Rodeo Productions rodeo family, where she helped type rodeo contracts for committees, worked as a timer and helped with the promotion and production at her family’s series of rodeos. Over the last 30 years, she has continued to work in the rodeo industry as a timer, secretary, and marketing and media consultant. She has been most active in the First Frontier Circuit serving as a timer, secretary, barrel racer and co-producer of their Circuit Finals. For the last seven years, Myers has served on the WPRA Board of Directors as the First Frontier Circuit Director.

            Joining Myers as the WPRA Vice President will be Jerri Mann of California, who received 410 votes to Tammy Key-Fischer’s 154 votes. The remaining election positions pertained to Circuit Directors, who also serve on the Board of Directors, and those include Kristie Hurn, Columbia River; Beth Ann Borowy, First Frontier; Lana Tibbetts, Montana; Laura Lambert, Mountain States; Tamme Fussell, Southeastern; Lois Ferguson, Texas; and Kali Jo Parker, Wilderness.

            For more information on the election results or on the WPRA visit www.wpra.com.



Women’s Professional Rodeo Association

The Women’s Professional Rodeo Association, which started in 1948 as a group of Texas ranch women who wanted to add a little color and femininity to the rough-and-tumble sport of rodeo, is now a computerized association with more than 2,000 members.

            In 1948, the group organized and called itself the Girl’s Rodeo Association (GRA). It began with 74 original members with 60 approved contests with a total payout of $29,000. In 1981, the GRA changed its name to the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association (WPRA). The WPRA provides opportunities for women across the United States and Canada a chance to compete in the timed events of barrel racing, team roping, breakaway roping, tie-down roping and the roughstock events of bareback and bull riding.. For more information on the WPRA visit www.wpra.com.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Official Result: Lightning 53 drew Giants 53
Conservative approach the key for Preedasuttijit
Please follow us