Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Swimming - 07. July 2008.

Kamrau-Corestein wins amongst an experienced field

Some big names in the world of open water prevailed in the fourth race of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2008 on July 5 in Capri-Napoli, Italy. The course was 36km and the competition welcomed 22 swimmers (11 men and 11 women), many of whom are internationally-recognised. Prize money for the event was US$20,000.

In the women’s field, Britta Kamrau-Corestein (GER) was triumphant in 7.56.26. Having medalled in FINA open water World Cups almost consistently since 1999, she too is famous for her achievements in this demanding discipline. With this victory, Kamrau-Corestein stole the gold from the great Natalia Pankina (RUS), who has won the first three races of the 2008 Grand Prix series. The complete medallists are as follows:

1. Britta Kamrau-Corestein (GER) 7h56m26s
2. Natalia Pankina (RUS) 8h01m21s
3. Stefanie Biller (GER) 8h05m45s

The FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix is one of the two new long-distance swimming competition series’ launched by FINA in 2007 (the other is the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup). These two series’ replace the FINA Marathon Swimming World Cup contested since 1993/1994. The Grand Prix competition is designed for open water swimming races of and above 15km. The next race for the 2008 series will take place on July 13 in Sabac (SRB).

in few lines

Dates & Sites

(1) Race GP No 1 - February 3, 2008 - Maraton Acuatica Rio Coronda in Santa Fe (ARG), 57km
(2) Race GP No 2 - February 9, 2008 - Rosario (ARG), 15km
(3) Race GP No 3 - February 16, 2008 - Viedma (ARG), 15km
(4) Race GP No 4 - July 5, 2008 - Marathon del Golfo Capri-Napoli (ITA), 36km

(5) Race GP No 5 - July 13, 2008 - Sabac Swim Marathon (SRB), 19 km
(6) Race GP No 6 - July 19, 2008- Ohrid Lake Swim Marathon (MKD), 30km
(7) Race GP No 7 - July 26, 2008 - Traversée Internationale du Lac St. Jean, Roberval (CAN), 32km
(8) Race GP No 8 - August 2, 2008 - Traversée Internationale du Lac Magog (CAN), 34km
(9) Race GP No 9 – October 18, 2008 - XVII Sumidero Canyon Swimming Marathon in Chiapas (MEX), 15km


(1) 1. Natalia Pankina (RUS); 2. Edith Van Dijk (NED); 3. Laura La Piana (ITA)
(2) 1. Natalia Pankina (RUS); 2. Esther Nuñez (ESP); 3. Alessandra Romiti (ITA)
(3) 1. Natalia Pankina (RUS); 2. Annegret Braun (GER); 3. Marianela Mendoza (ARG)
(4) 1. Britta Kamrau-Corestein (GER); 2. Natalia Pankina (RUS); 3. Stefanie Biller (GER)

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Suncorp Netball-Talking Points: Could Things Get Any Closer?
Elisa Longo Borghini Wins OVO Energy Tour Mountains Classification
Please follow us