Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating
Cycling - 13. January 2020.

Harnden crowned British champion at the National Cyclo-cross Championships

A new champion was guaranteed in the women’s race following the retirements of Helen Wyman and Nikki Brammeier, and it was Harnden who ensured her name would be on the trophy after a fascinating tussle with Crumpton.

Harriet Harnden and Gianni Siebens master the mud in final at York


Harnden, last year’s junior champion, started strongly, but Crumpton fought her way back into the race, only for Harnden to battle back on the final lap and take the title.


She said:


“I think I went off a little too fast – I was a bit excited. I was very nervous for this race; there are a lot of good riders in the UK, so it’s tough competition, and I got a bit tired when Beth caught me up, but I just found a bit of energy at the end.


“She was much stronger at the running than me, and whenever we ran she’d come flying past me, but in the woods I was slightly faster, and I knew if I went into the woods first on the last lap I could open enough of a gap to get me to the finish.”


“I’m absolutely gobsmacked. This is something I always dreamed of doing, but not now, not this young!”


Crumpton had to settle for silver, while last year’s silver medallist Anna Kay claimed bronze.


Both elite races were contested by senior and under-23 riders, with titles awarded in both categories. Harnden took the women’s under-23 title, with Kay second and Amy Perryman third, while due to Pidcock’s participation in elite international competition and therefore lack of eligibility for the national under-23 title, Tulett took the men’s crown from Mason and Ben Turner.


Also contested today were the junior titles, which saw victories for Millie Couzens and Rory McGuire, both of whom built their leads steadily as the races progressed, crossing the line well clear of their opposition.




Elite women


1.         Hattie Harnden (T-Mo Racing)

2.         Beth Crumpton (Tarteletto-Isorex)

3.         Anna Kay (Experza Pro CX)




Under-23 women


1.         Hattie Harnden (T-Mo Racing)

2.         Anna Kay (Experza Pro CX)

3.         Amy Perryman (Montezuma’s Hargroves Race Team)




1.         Millie Couzens (PH-Mas/Paul Milne Cycles)

2.         Josie Nelson (RST/Cycle Division Racing Team)

3.         Anna Flynn (Edinburgh RC)



Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
US Name team for the Shebelieves Cup 2020
Russo called into England Squad as Bronze is ruled out


Please follow us