Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Golf - 05. July 2007.

FootJoy backs England’s top women golfers

All players in the English Ladies’ Golf Association’s Performance and U18 Squads have received two pairs of FootJoy MyJoys shoes to wear as part of their England uniform.

The players have helped to create the look of the shoes, which will make their first official appearance when the European ladies’ and girls’ team championships get underway on Tuesday.  

MyJoys offers golfers a personalised shoe and the ELGA squads went online on  www.footjoy.co.uk/myjoys to choose from 72,000 different combinations and to create two designs.

The styles feature the England rose and the England Golf logos on the heels of the shoes while the trim uses the ELGA colours of pink and blue.  The squads were also provided with a selection of gloves and socks.

ELGA’s order of merit titleholder Kerry Smith, from Waterlooville in Hampshire, remarked: “The shoes are great and it’s really good to have our logos on them. It was fun to be involved in creating their look.”

Mike Lucas, FootJoy’s sales director, said: "FootJoy is delighted to be a sponsor of the English Ladies’ Golf Association squads.

“FootJoy very much appreciates the value that ELGA
brings to the ladies’ game and we are proud to be involved in helping
some of the ELGA's young stars. No doubt the ladies will have fun in
designing their shoes with our innovative MyJoys website. We wish them
all the success in their coming season."

The European ladies’ team championship takes place at Castelconturbia Golf Club, Italy, from July 10-14. The team, captained by Jenny Clink (Lilley Brook) is: Rachel Bell (Ganton), Naomi Edwards (Ganton), Jodi Ewart (Catterick), Florentyna Parker (Royal Birkdale), Melissa Reid (Chevin) and Kerry Smith (Waterlooville). The reserves are Liz Bennett (Brokenhurst Manor) and Rachel Jennings (Izaak Walton).

The European girls’ team championship takes place at Oslo Golf Club, Norway, also from July 10-14. The team, captained by Sara Miller (Langley Park) is: Hannah Barwood (knowle), Rachel Connor (Manchester), Ellie Givens (Blackwell Grange), and Kelly Tidy (Manchester). The reserves are Charlie Douglass (Brocket Hall) and Sarah Tyson (The London).

Lyndsey Hewison
Press & PR Officer

Tel. 01603 507 416
Email: lyndsey.hewison@tiscali.co.uk

Visit our web site at www.englishladiesgolf.org

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Steph Cook on Gender Equality

and becoming the first woman to win Olympic Gold At Sydney 2000

Please follow us