Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Volleyball - 25. November 2009.

FIVB Women’s Volleyball World Championships Japan 2010 Drawing of Lots Completed

Key match ups on the opening day of the 2010 Women's World Championships include Poland v Japan, USA v Thailand and Russia v the Dominican Republic

FIVB Women’s World Grand Champions Cup winners Italy have been drawn to meet Olympic champions Brazil and the Netherlands while world champions Russia will take on China, Korea and the Dominican Republic after the Drawing of Lots of the FIVB Women’s Volleyball World Championships Japan 2010 were completed in the Okasaka Grand Prince Hotel on Tuesday.

A total of 24 countries were drawn across four pools for the final round of the 16th edition of the FIVB Women’s World Championships, which will be held in six venues across five Japanese cities (Tokyo, Nagoya, Hamamatsu, Matsumoto and Osaka) from October 29-November 14, 2010.

Pools for the FIVB Women’s World Championship Japan 2010

Pool A

Pool B

Pool C

Pool D

Japan (7)

Brazil (1)

United States (2)

China (3)

Serbia (8)

Italy (5)

Cuba (5)

Russia (4)

Poland (9)

Netherlands (10)

Germany (11)

Korea (12)

Peru (16)

Kenya (15)

Kazakhstan (13)

Dom Republic (14)

Algeria (19)

Puerto Rico (18)

Thailand (17)

Turkey (20)

Costa Rica (30)

Czech Republic (36)

Croatia (39)

Canada (23)

* World rankings are in brackets

Schedule for FIVB Women's World Championship Japan 2010 1st Round

A great afternoon of entertainment, which was broadcast live on TBS, involved many major figures in the world of Volleyball including the FIVB President Mr. Jizhong Wei, the President of the FIVB Sports Events Council and FIVB 2nd Executive Vice-President Mr. Theofanis Tsiokris, FIVB 1st Executive Vice-President Mr. Cristobal Marte Hoffiz and the FIVB Executive Committee members.

“Today in Tokyo we take a very important and necessary step on the road towards the 2010 FIVB Women’s World Championship in Japan, President Wei said. “On behalf of the FIVB I would like to pass on my gratitude to the JVA and also to the host broadcaster TBS for their generous and expert support for this event. I would also like to recognise the federations and athletes who have played such a key role in the 2010 FIVB Women’s World Championship so far. My congratulations goes to the athletes of, not only the 24 teams who will participate in the world championships next year, but also to all the athletes who were part of this ground breaking tournament at one stage or another.”

“Japan is now wrapped up in the excitement of Volleyball and come next year, competition will inevitably be severe to decide the true no 1 in the world,” Japanese Volleyball Association Mr Masao Tachiki said. “We look forward to welcoming everyone to Japan.”

“The FIVB World Championships are the most prestigious Volleyball competition in the world,” National Organizing Committee Honorary President and TBS Chairman Mr Hiroshi Inoue said. “We have been host broadcaster of the 98 and 2006 editions and produced quality images for Volleyball fans in Japan but also around the world. We look forward to creating another great spectacle next year.”

A record-breaking number of nations (101) participated in the year-long qualifying process before 22 countries joined hosts Japan and defending champions Russia in the final round. The host nation and the first 11 teams in the world ranking were automatically placed according to the serpentine system with the following 12 teams drawn into pools.


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Beaugrand powers to first WTS gold thanks to inspired run in Hamburg

photos Janos Schmidt

Please follow us