Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Volleyball - 30. July 2007.

FIVB Girls’ Youth World Championship starting tomorrow in Tijuana and Mexicali

Brazilians celebrating the 2005 victory in Macau

TIJUANA, Mexico, July 30, 2007 -Brazil, the defending queens, won the title in Macau, China in 2005 and in Chiang Mai, Thailand in 1997, China took consecutive gold medals in 2001 and 2003 in Pula, Croatia and Pila, Italy respectively, and Japan finished first in 1995 and 1999 when the event was held in Orleans, France and Madeira, Portugal.

Meanwhile, South Korea and Russia won in 1993 and 1995 in Lisbon, Portugal and Bratislava, Slovakia. The inaugural edition of the event held in 1991 in Curitiba, Brazil was conquered by the former Soviet Union.

Historically, Brazil is the most decorated team having escalated the podium seven times (two gold, four silver and one bronze). Japan (2-1-1), Russia (1-3-0) and Italy (0-1-3) follow the South Americans in total podiums with 4 apiece.

The 2007 FIVB Girls’ Youth World Championship first round will consist of four pools of four teams playing a round robin system to determine the pool ranking. The top two teams from each first-round pool will move to Pools E and F, while the bottom two teams in each pool move to Pools G and H.
All four second round pools (E, F, G, H) will be composed of four teams which will play a round robin format. The top two teams in Pools E and F will advance to the semi finals, while the third and fourth place teams in Pools E and F will play for fifth through eighth place. The top two teams from Pools G and H qualify for the 9-12 play-offs, while the third and fourth place teams will compete for spots 13-16. Each team will be guaranteed eight matches in the tournament.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Steph Cook on Gender Equality

and becoming the first woman to win Olympic Gold At Sydney 2000

Please follow us