Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Hockey - 23. December 2011.


The FIH today announced the prestigious winners of All-Stars for 2011, a sparkling list which  features a total of 36 players and four coaches who have lit up the hockey world over the past 12 months with their achievements.

 GB/ENG /RHC Alex Danson

The squads  were decided by public vote on the FIH Website between 12th and 21st December – feature a number of players who have been regularly named in the All-Stars. These include the record breaking seven times world player of the year Luciana Aymar (ARG). The annual All-Stars award came into existence in 2006.

Germany striker Natascha Keller has made the list for a fifth time, having missed the cut just once since 2006. Netherlands penalty corner expert Maartje Paumen is another regular on the women’s list, making the All-Stars for the fourth time following fine midfield displays as her team won Gold at the Rabo FIH Champions Trophy and the Euro Hockey Nations Championships. Consistently excellent England and Great Britain midfielder Helen Richardson has also been rewarded with a third successive appearance in the All-Stars, as is Argentina defender Noel Barrionuevo.


 Sole Garcia ARG/SCHC Ned

 Fellow Argentine Carla Rebecchi also makes the list for the third time following appearances in 2010 and 2008. Soledad Garcia (ARG), Gemma Flynn (NZL) and goalkeeper Joyce Sombroek (NED) make the All-Stars for the second time.

 NED/Laren   Joyce Sombroek

As well as these more familiar names, a number of other gifted individuals have made the All-Stars for the very first time. The fine form of Germany goalkeeper Yvonne Frank has been rewarded with a coveted place in the All-Stars where she is accompanied by her team-mate Julia Müller, who has excelled in defence for her country over the last 12 months. Netherlands youngster Willemijn Bos continues her rapid rise to stardom by also claiming a place amongst the defenders where she is joined by fellow first-timers Kobie McGurk (AUS) and Katelyn Falgowski (USA). Kim Da Rae is another newcomer to the All-Stars following a number of superb displays in midfield for Korea. Lively attackers Alex Danson (ENG) and Anita Punt (NZL) have been named amongst the forwards, alongside remarkable South African Pietie Coetzee, who this year became hockey’s all time top goal-scorer when she surpassed the previous mark of 220 set by Russia’s Natalya Krasnikova some 20 years ago.

NED Maartje Paumen ( drag flick queen) 

As well as the players, the public also had their chance to vote for the coaches that have impressed the most this year. Netherlands women’s coach Max Caldas makes the list after a stunning year in which his team won Gold at the Rabo FIH Champions Trophy and the EuroHockey Nations Championships. He is joined by Mark Hager, the Australian who guided New Zealand’s Black Sticks to a first ever Bronze medal at the Champions Trophy before masterminding victory in the Oceania Cup.

FIH All Stars 2011 – Women:

Yvonne Frank (GER)
Joyce Sombroek (NED)


Willemijn Bos (NED)
Julia Müller (GER)
Noel Barrionuevo (ARG)
Kobie McGurk (AUS)
Katelyn Falgowski (USA)

Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Helen Richardson (ENG / GBR)
Maartje Paumen (NED)
Gemma Flynn (NZL)
Kim Da Rae (KOR)

Alex Danson (ENG)
Natascha Keller (GER)
Carla Rebecchi (ARG)
Soledad Garcia (ARG)
Anita Punt (NZL)
Pietie Coetzee (RSA)


Mark Hager (AUS), Coach of New Zealand
Max Caldas (ARG), Coach of The Netherlands
Source FIH  Geneva December 23rd, 2011


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Suncorp Netball-Talking Points: Could Things Get Any Closer?
Elisa Longo Borghini Wins OVO Energy Tour Mountains Classification
Please follow us