Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Basketball - 21. March 2011.

FIBA U19 World Championship Women draw

PUERTO MONTT, Chile (2011 FIBA U19 World Championship for Women) – The draw for the 2011 FIBA U19 World Championship for Women was held in Puerto Montt on Friday, ahead of this summer’s tournament, scheduled to take place in Chile between 21 and 31 July.

The 16 teams, hailing from all five of FIBA’s continental zones, were divided into four groups of four teams for the Preliminary Round, played in a standard round-robin format from 21 to 23 July in the cities of Puerto Montt and Puerto Varas.

Group A: Canada, China, Egypt, Italy.
Group B: Argentina, Japan, Russia, USA.
Group C: Australia, Chile, France, Nigeria.
Group D: Brazil, Chinese Taipei, Slovenia, Spain.

The three top placed teams from each group will advance to the Eighth Final Round (25-27 July) which consists of two pools of six. During that stage of the competition, each team faces the three new opponents in their group.

The top eight teams from the Eighth Final Round will then move on to the Quarter Finals scheduled for Friday 29 July. The Semi Finals will be played the following day and the Finals on Sunday 31 July.

The USA are the reigning champions, having won the last three times.

Past editions of the FIBA U19 World Championship for Women have seen a number of international stars in the making, including: Elizabeth Cambage (2009); Diana Taurasi, Erika de Suza Machado and Eva Viteckova (2001); Lauren Jackson Jackon, Lijie Miao, Hamchetou Maiga Ba and Ilona Korstin (1997); Janeth Arcain, Natalia Zasulskaya and Lisa Leslie (1989); Michelle Timms (1985).
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Beaugrand powers to first WTS gold thanks to inspired run in Hamburg

photos Janos Schmidt 

Please follow us