Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Basketball - 06. May 2011.

FIBA AMERICAS - Brazil and Canada headline Group B, Argentina and Cuba in Group A

NEIVA (FIBA Americas Championship for Women) - FIBA Americas, alongside the Colombian Basketball Federation and the Government of Huila on Thursday held the draw for the 2011 FIBA Americas Championship for Women at the "Auditorio Rodrigo Lara Bonilla de la Asamblea Departamental del Huila".

The results of the draw are as follows
Group A: Chile, Cuba, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Colombia
Group B: Jamaica, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Paraguay

In attendance was FIBA Americas Secretary General, Mr Alberto Garcia, who thanked and congratulated the Colombian Basketball Federation and the Government of Huila for hosting the above-mentioned competition.

Mr Garcia was joined by the Governor of Huila, Mr Jorge Luis Sánchez, the President of the Colombian basketball Federation, Mr Jairo Romero, and representatives from both the local government and the organiding committee.

The FIBA Americas Championship for Women will be held between 24 September and 1 October at the "Coliseo Alvaro Sanchez Silva" of Neiva, Colombia.

The 10 countries will vye for an automatic place at the 2012 Olympic Games Basketball Tournament in London.

The teams that finished second, third and fourth will gain the right to play at the FIBA Olympic Qualifier Tournament.

Click here for the schedule of the FIBA Americas Championship for Women (times and order of play to be confirmed).

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
England battle back to draw Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup opener with India
Please follow us