Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Triathlon - 08. May 2013.

Felix and Jeter the best female all-time IAAF Diamond League

Allyson Felix and Carmelita Jeter are the most successful female athletes in the history of the Diamond Race, the season-long points scoring battle in 32 event disciplines, which is at the core of the annual IAAF Diamond League.

The IAAF Diamond League, which starts its 2013 season in Doha, Qatar this Friday 10 May, may only be a youngster in the realm of international sports tours, but in its first three seasons the IAAF’s top-tier invitational circuit has quickly and clearly established itself in the minds of sports fans everywhere as the very best of international track and field competition outside the IAAF World Championships and the Olympic Games.

Every discipline takes place seven times each season as a Diamond Race event within the IAAF Diamond League, presenting athletes with points scoring opportunities – click here – as they compete for a slice of 8 million dollars in prize money across the series.

All-time, Felix and Jeter standout as the female athletes with the greatest number of Diamond Race wins, a total of 13 victories each, across the 14-meeting series during the three seasons (2010 to 2012).

Jamaica’s Kaliese
holds the distinction of having accumulated the most points for a female  (72).

The 32 overall winners of the annual Diamond Race each receive a 40,000 USD cash prize and a spectacular Diamond Trophy created by Beyer, one of the oldest and most respected jewellers in the world, but more importantly, by showing season-long consistency they earn the unchallenged honour of being the World Number 1.

Four other athletes have also won their event’s Diamond Race in all three seasons of the IAAF Diamond League: Paul Kipsiele Koech (3000m Steeplechase), Vivian Cheruiyot (5000m), Milcah Chemos Cheywa (3000m Steeplechase), and Kaliese Spencer (400m Hurdles).

Incidentally, Jeter (three – 100m in 2011 and 2012; 200m in 2012) and Felix (two – 200m & 400m in 2011) have respectively won five trophies between them.

So, get set for the start of the IAAF Diamond League in Doha, where Felix will be aiming to triumph in the 400m and move ahead of Lavillenie and Jeter who won’t begin their 2013 Diamond Race campaigns until later in the series.
Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Serena denied as Kerber completes quest
Serena faces Angelique in Wimbledon Singles final
Please follow us