Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cricket - 12. January 2010.

England womens squad for India

The England women's selectors have named a 15-strong squad to tour India from February 15th - March 9th 2010. Led by Charlotte Edwards, the squad will play five One Day Internationals and three Twenty20 matches.


Danielle Wyatt, an 18 year from Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, has been selected for what will be her debut tour. The promising off-spinner, who has previously represented the England Women's Academy, has been called up to replace Holly Colvin who is currently studying Natural Sciences at Durham University and is unable to tour because of her academic commitments.


Claire Taylor, who is taking a six month break from international cricket, is also unavailable for selection but will be resuming training in February in preparation for the ICC World Twenty20 in April.


Clare Connor, ECB head of women's cricket, said: "The team has had an outstanding year in 2009 but attentions have already turned to what will be a challenging year in 2010. The tour to India will be a real test for the squad and without Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin there are opportunities for other squad members to stake a claim for a place in the side and prove that they are match winners ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in April and the series against New Zealand this summer.


“It is a demanding place to play cricket and the fact that no squad member has ever won a series in India proves just what a challenge the three weeks will be. The girls will be determined to change their losing record in India and come back with wins in both the One Day and Twenty20 series."





1. Charlotte Edwards  (capt) - Kent

2. Caroline Atkins - Sussex

3. Tammy Beaumont - Kent

4. Katherine Brunt - Yorkshire

5. Lydia Greenway  - Kent

6. Isa Guha - Berkshire

7. Jenny Gunn - Nottinghamshire

8. Danielle Hazell - Yorkshire

9. Laura Marsh - Sussex

10. Beth Morgan - Middlesex

11. Ebony Rainford-Brent - Surrey

12. Nicky Shaw - Surrey

13. Anya Shrubsole - Somerset

14. Sarah Taylor - Sussex

15. Danielle Wyatt - Staffordshire




Feb 15: England squad arrive in Bangalore

Feb 17: warm-up match against KSCA XI, Bangalore

Feb 19: 1st ODI, Bangalore

Feb 22: 2nd ODI, Hyderabad

Feb 24: 3rd ODI, Hyderabad

Feb 27: 4th ODI, Vizag Mar 01: 5th ODI, Vizag

Mar 05: 1st Twenty20, D Y Patil

Mar 07: 2nd Twenty20 Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai

Mar 08: 3rd Twenty20 Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Please follow us