Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cricket - 20. June 2008.

England Women v England Academy

The England Women’s Team will take on the England Women’s Academy side in a Twenty20 fixture this Sunday June 22 at Somerset CCC, the Home of Women’s Cricket at 6pm. The match will be played immediately after Somerset Sabres’ match against Worcestershire Royals in the domestic Twenty20 Cup.

The showcase match will give the Taunton crowds a taste of what’s to come next June as Taunton plays host to the group stages of the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 women’s tournament from June 11- June 16 2009 inclusive. Every day will provide a double header of Twenty20 matches with the first game starting at 12pm and the second at 4pm. All eight teams featuring in this global competition will be based in and around Taunton.

Sunday’s match will feature all England Women’s Ashes winners as well as those that toured Australia and New Zealand in the winter. They will be joined by nine players that the selectors feel are knocking on the door for a squad place. England captain Charlotte Edwards will lead the full England side, while the Academy will be captained by Jenny Halstead.

ECB Head of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor commented: “With only a year to go before the ICC World Twenty20, this match gives our players the opportunity to win over some new fans at the County Ground Taunton who may not have seen much live women’s cricket before.

“We are thrilled that Taunton can host all twenty-four group stage matches in June next year before the semi-finals and final at Trent Bridge, the Oval and Lord’s respectively.

“Along with their programme of two NatWest Women’s Series, the England Women’s Team have four Natwest Women’s International Twenty20 matches on the horizon against South Africa and India, with a televised match here on 5th September. Every Twenty20 match is an opportunity for the players to prepare for a successful campaign in the ICC World Twenty20 next year.”

The teams for the match are as follows:


Charlotte Edwards (capt)

Sarah Taylor (wk)

Claire Taylor

Lydia Greenway

Jenny Gunn

Ebony Rainford-Brent

Beth Morgan

Nicky Shaw

Laura Marsh

Katherine Brunt

Isa Guha


Jenny Halstead (capt)

Salliann Briggs

Caroline Atkins

Rosalie Birch

Kate Oakenfold

Anya Shrubsole

Lynsey Askew

Kathryn Cross

Lauren Griffiths (wk)

Danielle Hazell

Georgia Elwiss

12th Danni Wyatt (for both teams)

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Suncorp Netball-Talking Points: Could Things Get Any Closer?
Elisa Longo Borghini Wins OVO Energy Tour Mountains Classification
Please follow us