Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cricket - 28. June 2011.

England Women beat Australia to win the NatWest Women's Quadrangular T20 Series.

England women maintained their 100 percent record as they beat Australia by 16 runs in the Final of the NatWest Women's Quadrangular T20 Series at The Rose Bowl today.

Charlotte Edwards (21) once again opened the batting with Laura Marsh looking to continue England's attacking form from the first ball. However the pair both suffered to the hands of Lisa Sthalekar who first ran out Marsh and then took the wicket of Edwards who was caught in the deep by Jessica Cameron, leaving England on 42-2.

Despite later being reduced to 76-5 after losing a cluster of wickets in the middle order, England rebuilt their innings through Lydia Greenway and Arran Brindle.

Player of the match Lydia Greenway was particularly impressive, striking five fours on her way to 48, her highest score in the format as England set a total of 132 for nine.

The hosts quickly found their stride in the field and disciplined bowling meant Australia never threatened to chase down the total.

Player of the Series Holly Colvin was the pick of the attack, with 2-16 from four overs and although Alex Blackwell and Lisa Sthalekar put on a 72-run partnership for the fifth wicket, Australia were always behind the run-rate as they finished on 116 for eight.

Charlotte Edwards said: "It's been a great day, I'm really proud of the team, we've all worked hard for this. We have a great mix of players in the squad at the moment, some of the youngsters are really stepping up to the mark and everyone has contributed to the success.

"It's been fantastic to play in front of such good crowds during the series the players enjoy it and it's great for the profile of the women's game.

"We won't be resting on our laurels as we move into the 50-over series, but we will take this momentum with us."

Earlier in the day India beat New Zealand by three wickets in the play off match for third and fourth place in at The Army Cricket Ground, Aldershot.
All teams now travel to Derby for the 50-over format of the NatWest Women's Quadrangular Series which starts on Thursday. In the first matches England will play India at The County Ground Derby and Australia will face New Zealand at Chesterfield Cricket Club.

Highlights of all England's matches in the NatWest Women's Quadrangular Series can be found at www.ecb.co.uk<http://www.ecb.co.uk/> along with interviews with player of the match, player of the series and England and Australia captains.

NatWest Women's Quadrangular Series 2011
Thursday, June 30
England Women v India Women, County Ground, Derbyshire 14.30
Australia Women v New Zealand, Chesterfield CC, Derbyshire 10.45
Saturday, July 02
England Women v New Zealand Women, County Ground, Derbyshire 10.45
India Women v Australia Women, Chesterfield CC, Derbyshire 10.45
Tuesday, July 05
New Zealand Women v India Women, Southgate CC, London 10.45
England Women v Australia Women Lord's 10.45
Thursday, July 07
England Women v 3/4th or FINAL, Wormsley CC, Buckinghamshire 10.45
3/4th or FINAL, Aston Rowant CC, Buckinghamshire 10.45


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
England battle back to draw Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup opener with India
Please follow us