Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Football - 14. March 2011.

England to face Netherlands in UEFA European Championship Qualifying

England have been drawn against the Netherlands in the qualifying round for the 2013 UEFA European Championships while holders Germany will face Spain.

By David Brenchley

Hope Powell's team were runners up back in 2009 and will be joined in Group 6 by Slovenia, Serbia and Croatia while Germany and Spain also play Switzerland, Romania, Turkey and Kazakhstan.

There will be 11 teams qualifying for the tournament, alongside hosts Sweden, and qualifying will run between 17 September 2011 and 19 September 2012.

Fixtures, which will be confirmed shortly and the group winners and best runners-up (not counting results against sixth-placed teams) will qualify for the finals.

The six remaining runners-up will contest home-and-away play-off matches on 20/21 and 24/25 October 2012, with the three winners of these ties also qualifying. The 12-team finals will be played in July 2013.


Group 1: Italy, Russia, Poland, Greece, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group 2: Germany (holders), Spain, Switzerland, Romania, Turkey, Kazakhstan

Group 3: Norway, Iceland, Belgium, Hungary, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria

Group 4: France, Scotland, Republic of Ireland, Wales, Israel

Group 5: Finland, Ukraine, Belarus, Slovakia, Estonia

Group 6: England, Netherlands, Slovenia, Serbia, Croatia

Group 7: Denmark, Czech Republic, Austria, Portugal, Armenia

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Jamaica fend off gallant Silver Ferns to win Taini Jamison Trophy
England defeat Australia in tri-series opener
Please follow us