Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cricket - 10. April 2010.

England announce womens ICC World Twenty20 squad

The ECB today named the final England  women's squad for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 to be held in the Caribbean from April 30.
The England women's squad welcomes back Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin as they look to defend their ICC World Twenty20 crown.

Commenting on the England women's squad, Clare Connor, Head of England Women’s Cricket, said: "We believe we have selected a squad of players with the necessary skills to retain the ICC World Twenty20. Whilst this will be no easy feat given the strength of our group (Australia, West Indies and South Africa), the Twenty20 series win in India in February has prepared the squad well for the challenge. 

"In order to make way for the return of Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin, who missed the India tour due to other commitments, the selectors have had to make some tough decisions. Young Academy graduates Heather Knight, Danielle Wyatt and Danielle Hazell all seized their opportunities in India and, as such, have retained their places in the squad. 


"A couple of senior players have missed out on selection but the door remains open to them with a huge summer ahead against New Zealand in July. It is exactly this sort of competition for places that we are always striving for. We wish Charlotte Edwards and her squad every success in their bid to retain their ICC World Twenty20 champion status."





England women's ICC World T20 squad:


1.      Charlotte Edwards (Kent, Captain)

2.      Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)

3.      Holly Colvin (Sussex)

4.      Lydia Greenway (Kent)

5.      Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)

6.      Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)

7.      Heather Knight (Berkshire)

8.      Laura Marsh (Sussex)

9.      Beth Morgan (Middlesex)

10.  Nicky Shaw (Surrey)

11.  Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)

12.  Claire Taylor (Berkshire)

13.  Sarah Taylor (Sussex)

14.  Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)


The ICC World Twenty20 commences on Friday April 30 in Guyana with the final to be played on Sunday May 16 in Barbados .


The England men's team are in Group D alongside West Indies and Ireland, with its first Group match against hosts West Indies in Guyana on Monday May 3 (13:30 local time).


The England women's team are in Group A alongside Australia, West Indies and South Africa, with its first Group match against Australia in St Kitts on Wednesday May 5 (14:00 local time).

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
England battle back to draw Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup opener with India
Please follow us